Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-01-2008, 03:47 PM   #1

Share |

Tamko Heritage 30, or is it 50?

We're hoping anyone familiar with the Tamko Heritage 30 year and 50 year shingles (Natural Timber), can help us decide between the two...

We plan to be in the house another 15 years, maybe 20. We're hoping (pretending?) our selection will be problem-free and look good for this time. This Chicago-area house is a modern Cape Cod with mostly steep roofs, and it also shows a lot of roof street-side. I'm not an expert, but it seems well ventilated with two ridge vents and seven additional vents.

Any thoughts? Is there much of a difference?

Last edited by thor; 07-01-2008 at 04:00 PM. Reason: accidental post
thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 09:58 PM   #2

I do a real lot of Cape Cods in the Elgin and Dundee Area in the NW suburbs.

You are already wrong about your ventilation observation, if they have 7 static air mushroom style vents in conjunction with continuous ridge vents.

Typically, on most Cape Cod style homes, there is a knee wall and a small crawl in space to the exterior of those upper rooms.

The rooms themselves typically have a vaulted/cathedral ceiling feature for the additional head room.

The insulation is commonly installed butted up the the bottom side of the Plank Board, solidly butted or Tongue and Groove Decking boards.

The static air mushroom vents are useless, since they are now preventing the air flowage from reaching the optimum height of the Ridge Vents.

Unless you have a full continuous Fresh Air Intake Ventilation System, which could be a continuous soffit vent along the overhangs, if your home has one, or a continuous Shingle Over Style Intake Vent System, such as the Smart Vent from DCI Products or the Edge Intake Vent from Air Vent Corporation.