Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2007, 04:49 PM   #1
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

step flashing


I'm putting shingles down and have a question about step flashing. Do you nail through the shingle and step flashing or is it better to just use adhesive over the step flashing?

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 07:00 PM   #2
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

step flashing


OK, I figured it out. The next piece covers the nail in the previous piece of step.
Another thing I figured out... I hate roofing.

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 11:23 PM   #3
Member
 
the roofing god's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona,New York,10970
Posts: 877
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via MSN to the roofing god
Default

step flashing


put nail in top 2" of step flashing only,keep shingle nails 4"away from step flashing,step flashing starts where shingle exposure ends,except the 1st 1 or 2 if the wall ends up down at the fascia
the roofing god is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 07:16 AM   #4
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

step flashing


I searched the internet and found several different approaches to laying out step flashing. I kept the nails in the same line as the shingles and kept the edge of the step on the same line as the edge of the shingles. The next piece of step covered the nail of the previous step. I'm only 5 courses into this job. Did I screw up?

I thought that if no water can enter under the shingles with only 1/2 - 3/4" covering, why would the flashing be different.

I'm only 5 courses into it, should I strip out the flashing and reattach?
What are the chances of leaking if I left this portion as is and continued correctly.

I'm worried that pulling up would add more holes through the underlayment and be bigger cause for a potential leak.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 09-02-2007 at 08:34 AM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 01:39 PM   #5
Member
 
the roofing god's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona,New York,10970
Posts: 877
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via MSN to the roofing god
Default

step flashing


THERE SHOULD BE 2" HEADLAP PER EACH STEP,SOUNDS LIKE YOU`RE USING METRIC SHINGLES W/5X7 FLASHING(STANDARD SIZE),RIP IT OUT AND GET 5"X8" STEP TO FLASH IT PROPERLY-1ST PIECE BETWEEN STARTER AND 1ST COURSE,THEN EACH SUCCESSIVE ONE BOTTOM SET TO EDGE OF SHINGLE EXPOSURE(SO IT DOESN`T SHOW)-THE 8" GOES ALONG THE HEIGHT OF THE SHINGLE,THE 5"IS BENT IN THE MIDDLE SO HALF IS ON ROOF,HALF IS ON WALL
the roofing god is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do architectural shingles really work with step flashing? Malcolm Roofing/Siding 7 05-02-2008 10:31 PM
Plumbing vent flashing FatAugie Roofing/Siding 7 08-24-2007 08:30 PM
Roof to Sidewall Flashing handyman923 Roofing/Siding 1 09-13-2006 04:02 PM
Step by step Trishl Flooring 2 05-12-2006 10:03 PM
Flashing problems Slave Building & Construction 3 11-16-2005 03:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.