SmartVent - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-17-2008, 12:44 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

SmartVent

I'm new to this chatroom. I searched for quite awhile and while I found references to SmartVent I didn't find any discussion that was focused on it.

We own a house that was built in 1965. It has no overhangs whatsoever. The roof has two layers of shingles and needs to be replaced. Our house is located in Rochester, NY. I want to do it right, if we can afford it and my friends and I can do the job as do-it-yourselfers.

Short of adding new trusses I am looking at SmartVent. If the roof regularly ices in the wintertime, and I have observed this on other houses that have overhangs with vented soffits and ridge vents, will SmartVent be ok or might ice & water eventually back up in it and cause damage? The pitch on our roof is 4:12.

Hopefully this is enough information for folks to give good advice.

Thanks,
Bruce

Advertisement

RochesterBruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 01:39 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

SmartVent

I have spoken about the Smart Vent, from DCI Products in great detail on many threads in this forum

Do an Advanced Search, which will be some words that show up on the bottom of the regular Search button.

Then type in, User Name; Ed The Roofer

Then, with parenthesis included type into keywords; "Smart Vent" as 2 words.

Then, at the bottom do Search Posts, instead of Search Threads. This will eliminate alot of unnecessary reading.

It is acceptable on a 4/12 pitch roof and I have installed it on a home with a 2 1/2 per 12 slope about 4 years ago with no problems, and we live around Chicago, which has similar snow conditions as were you live.