Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 06:32 PM   #16
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Share |
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


.,.,.,.,.,,.

Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:34 PM   #17
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


When we do a reroof the step flashing is replaced everywhere on the roof system.(Chimney's,skylights,walls/dormer.)

I have never heard of or performed a complete build and charged extra for step flashing.

I do however charge extra for a counter flashing replacement.All my C.F is broke on site and it is anchored and embedded.

I usual start a charge of $275 for a 2'x2' chimney.The most was a 3'x8' chimney which was $2100 that was copper and had a cricket that was covered using copper.

It has been a great debate on alot of forums pertaining to counter flashing.If the customer wishes not to have the C.F replaced then a limited warranty is applied.

Also I have a caption within my contract that is explained verbally then initialed by the customer explaining these limits.

My warranty involves resealing any areas along the C.F that have failed.I cannot understand how a customer could logically hold me liable for an issue that was brought to their attention.

I stress to them the importance of a full C.F replacement but if they cannot afford it then that is on them.


All my builds have C.F and aprons and pans/aprons for skylights as an option above the actual proposal price.

Last edited by beenthere; 12-08-2011 at 05:49 PM. Reason: Decreased font size to make it easier to read.
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roofmaster417 For This Useful Post:
Tom Struble (12-07-2011)
Old 12-07-2011, 08:26 PM   #18
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,565
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


Roomaster do you have vision issues?
Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 08:51 PM   #19
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,136
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roofmaster417 View Post
When we do a reroof the step flashing is replaced everywhere on the roof system.(Chimney's,skylights,walls/dormer.)
Do you always R&R the siding to do it???
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:59 PM   #20
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikfishron View Post
Do you always R&R the siding to do it???

Hardly ever.,I do if I am doing the siding too.But all you need is the proper tools to do it.

A nailbar and alot of patience.If you go in like an out of control train then yes you will destroy everything.

I can honestly say that in the past year I have removed J channel on 2 jobs out of 400+.
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:00 PM   #21
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Roomaster do you have vision issues?



My vision is fine why do you ask? Are you having spelling issues?.,.,Hahahahaha.,just playing seriously did I miss something?

Last edited by Roofmaster417; 12-07-2011 at 10:06 PM.
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 08:02 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roofmaster417 View Post
My vision is fine why do you ask? Are you having spelling issues?.,.,Hahahahaha.,just playing seriously did I miss something?
Haha, he is just poking fun at your font size.
Roofster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 09:39 AM   #23
Shut in w/o Home
 
seeyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 696
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Roomaster do you have vision issues?
He can see fine, but he can't hear very well.........That's why he's got the font turned all the way up.
seeyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 10:26 AM   #24
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


What???.,.,Someone say something?????.,.,Hahahahaha
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roofmaster417 For This Useful Post:
seeyou (12-08-2011)
Old 12-08-2011, 10:28 AM   #25
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


I have my screen set small and its hard to see if If I have a typo.,
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 10:28 AM   #26
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9,565
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


Quote:
What???.,.,Someone say something?????.,.,Hahahahaha
You've been spending too much time with Ty Pennington.
Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bud Cline For This Useful Post:
Roofmaster417 (12-08-2011)
Old 12-08-2011, 10:31 AM   #27
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Default

Should a Roofer include the Chimney Flashing on Reroof


I made my screen bigger and its alot better.I apologize if it has annoyed anyone.I have never really thought about it.

Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roofmaster417 For This Useful Post:
Slyfox (12-09-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stucco and Flashing at Base of Chimney Need Repair vcheez Roofing/Siding 15 11-10-2011 05:39 PM
Need help deciding giving this chimney flashing contractor a second chance tracyj Roofing/Siding 3 03-29-2011 09:56 AM
Bad job replacing chimney flashing? TNVolFamily Roofing/Siding 12 02-28-2010 07:04 PM
Chimney Flashing mfitzsimons Roofing/Siding 4 04-20-2009 10:00 PM
Looks like leaking around the chimney - roofer says it is the chimney itself Salvatorparadise Roofing/Siding 6 03-07-2008 03:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.