Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-22-2011, 08:37 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Shingles and Re-Roof

I used to work in the home improvement business several years ago, but haven't kept up with all the new products on the market. I am getting ready to re-roof my house. I have a few questions that I need answered, if you could help me on these.
1. I currently have IKO shingles which were installed in 1997. I am the 2nd owner of the home and the shingles are in terrible shape. I was told IKO is or was having problems with shingles from this time period. After looking into the problem, I found out that many states have class action law suits because of the manufacture defects. I am beginning the process of contacting IKO in regards to my roof only lasting 15 years even though the shingles were 25 or 30 year warranted.
Do you know if IKO has worked with homeowners on recovering some of their cost for re-roofing or vouchers for new shingles?

2. I can't wait long, so I am going to re-roof my house, approximately 33 square with GAF Timberline-HD-Lifetime-3Dimensional shingles. Is this a good product to select and any advice would be great.

3. Lastly, I have had 3 different quotes all over the board for tear-off and re-roof. $7800, $9600 and $14,000 respectively. I feel confident in doing the work myself to save money and to do a good job. What is a reasonable cost per square for re-roofing in my area, I live in Southeast, Michigan?

Thanks again for any advice you can give.

Jblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:04 AM   #2
the Musigician

Rewards Points: 2,000

Shingles and Re-Roof