Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-09-2010, 02:11 PM   #1

Share |

Shingles with Metal Plates Under Them Lifting?

I have no knowledge when it comes to roofing.

I have noticed that there are shingles where the roof meets the siding of the upper roof that have like these metal plates underneath them. These shingles seem to be lifting or curling...

Is this a problem and what the best way to fix it.

Here are some photos to better illustrate the problem.

Also, looks like I might have some rot there too, not sure. Will have to wait till spring to take the siding off and have a look.

Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers!

earthad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 06:56 PM   #2
Pro Slate Roofer

That's ypur step-flashing. Roofer should have bent them backwards so they would lie flat. He didn't want to nail in the keyway, so he left the nails out.
I would pull the shingles, and re-step-flash with the proper bend and a wider piece so I could nail them properly if I had to do it.

tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 07:00 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinner666 View Post
That's ypur step-flashing. Roofer should have bent them backwards so they would lie flat. He didn't want to nail in the keyway, so he left the nails out.
I would pull the shingles, and re-step-flash with the proper bend and a wider piece so I could nail them properly if I had to do it.
Thanks tinner666

Sorry, I'm not sure I know what you mean by bending then backwards so they lie flat. Lie flat on the roof, or against the sidewall? Is a keyway the spaces you see between shingles? Are you supposed to put nails there?

Since it's in a dry area, do you think I can wait until the spring or am I just asking for trouble if I do that? Reason I ask is that I'm in Canada, and it's January