Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2014, 04:32 PM   #1
DIY Homeowner
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gardner,MA
Posts: 221
Share |
Default

Shed roof


I'm having a tough time figuring how many bundles I need to cover my shed , it is 324sqft, the 3 tab shingles I was looking at says coverage is 33 sqft per bundle. Does that mean I will need 10 bundles. I found this other site, which mentions how to figure out how many squares on the roof which is confusing me. Any help would be appreciated
Thanks
Barry

Barry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 04:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,770
Default

Shed roof


A square is 10' X 10', 3 bundles.
10 bundles may or may not do it because of waste, starter strips and caps.
I pick up 11 so you can finish the job, take one back of not needed.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 05:35 PM   #3
CRCA Roofing Contractor
 
RoofingTrades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 59
Default

Shed roof


A general rule of thumb is add 10% for waste. With traditional 3-Tab shingles waste may be a bit more than with newer designer style shingles, specifically if you want to follow the pattern. A "square" in roofing terminology is 100 square feet. Joecaption is correct, add additional material as you can always return what you haven't opened. It'd be a waste of time if you're 99% done and short of just a couple of shingles and have to return to your supplier.
RoofingTrades is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RoofingTrades For This Useful Post:
Roofers Advice (04-26-2014)
Old 04-27-2014, 12:08 PM   #4
Roofers Advice
 
Roofers Advice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Erie, Pennsylvania
Posts: 11
Default

Shed roof


Hi Barry,

When you say it has 324sqft are you talking about the square ft. of the garage or roof. I ask because a commom mistake is to use the footage of the shed floor vs. the square footage of the actual rooftop.
Roofers Advice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 12:39 PM   #5
DIY Homeowner
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gardner,MA
Posts: 221
Default

Shed roof


Measured the roof, not shed,

Thanks
Barry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 12:45 PM   #6
Roofers Advice
 
Roofers Advice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Erie, Pennsylvania
Posts: 11
Default

Shed roof


Excellent.

You've gotten some great advice from
"Roofing Trades"+"Joe Caption".

So, have fun and let us know how it goes!

Roofers Advice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a lean to roof to shed Mills314 Building & Construction 5 10-14-2013 09:57 AM
Ceiling joists with shed style roof? agent008 Building & Construction 3 09-29-2013 01:30 PM
add shed roof to gable roof lucy1 Roofing/Siding 0 10-30-2011 08:31 PM
Shed roof addition & insulation qustion radgumbo Roofing/Siding 2 12-06-2010 05:33 AM
Shed Porch roof tying in... my5sons Roofing/Siding 7 10-27-2009 08:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.