Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2009, 08:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 137
Share |
Default

safety harness on roof


I don't remember where, but I have seen in the past some people use safety harness when they work on a sloped roof.

Does anyone know how this is possible? does someone need to install something on the roof to make it happen?

-gramps416

gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

safety harness on roof


Home Depot sells a complete kit for $100
Anchor point is secured across the ridge
I'm sure there are other methods

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Default

safety harness on roof


We use them all of the time, in addition to safety boards using 2" x 6"'s locked into roof brackets.

Here is one link, nobody in particular.
http://www.snugharness.com/Roofing-Kits/

The Miller Brand seems to be one of the more common and popular units sold.
http://www.snugharness.com/Miller-Fall-Protection/

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

safety harness on roof


Pic of one being setup

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Default

safety harness on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Pic of one being setup


Thats the GOOD kind of bracket too, because you can reuse it over and over again.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:09 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

safety harness on roof


If it is for your own house, this one installs permanently and comes with a plastic boot cover against water leakage. I've install about 60 of them, can go over or under the sheathing. http://www.superanchor.com/application.html Be safe, G
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 06:11 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Default

safety harness on roof


They are required by OSHA, for roof workers, and not a bad idea for DIY'ers. You will likely not survive a fall from a roof, undamaged, even once.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 10:23 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 137
Default

safety harness on roof


what makes one of these brackets permanent?, or better yet, how can you tell the difference between the disposable type and the permanent?

Which type is the one in the pic shown?

And finally, to install a permanent one, does it have to be done before the roof is installed?

-gramps416
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:43 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

safety harness on roof


The link provided is to a permanent one
The shingles are then installed over the barce/attachment point
Then as stated there is a rubber boot that goes over it to help keep water out
I imagine it could be retrofitted if you have some extra shingles

The "temp" one is screwed in as you roof, then removed before you finish - to then be used again on the next roof

I have a cupola going on my roof
So I am going to attach some eye bolts all the way thru for any possible future needs
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 10:18 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 137
Default

safety harness on roof


one final question about this topic.
I have been finding a permanent solution that is a little different by the miller company"
http://www.millerfallprotection.com/...of_Anchors.pdf
that has single and double d solutions (apposed to their claw line)

has anyone used the single or double d's? to they have to fold over the ridge to install them? or not necessary.
thanks
-g416
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 08:40 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

safety harness on roof


Looks like they don't have to fold over the ridge (unless the double D)
There are single "D's" that can be mounted on each side

I used my climbing gear harness & rope again
I'm 10' up the slope of the roof & 2 big 30x55 skylights are in
So looks like I'll be bringing the harness setup back
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 01:47 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

safety harness on roof


That energy absorbing fall protection is another thing. I didn't get it, but then I cut tree branches from a ladder while the ladder is strapped to the tree and I am strapped to the ladder. No distance to fall.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 09:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

safety harness on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
That energy absorbing fall protection is another thing. I didn't get it, but then I cut tree branches from a ladder while the ladder is strapped to the tree and I am strapped to the ladder. No distance to fall.
Unless the tree is hollow & falls when you cut a big branch
Had a friend tell em about that problem...after I cut a big branch off a tree out back & the whole tree swing as the branch went

I actually use my sawzall now to cut limbs
Easier to repalce a blade if it gets stuck
And less $$ to replace then my chainsaw
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 11:50 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

safety harness on roof


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Unless the tree is hollow & falls when you cut a big branch
Had a friend tell em about that problem...after I cut a big branch off a tree out back & the whole tree swing as the branch went

I actually use my sawzall now to cut limbs
Easier to repalce a blade if it gets stuck
And less $$ to replace then my chainsaw
Yes, every book I read and video I saw on cutting trees began with "In memory of. . ."

Haven't yet bought a Sawzall.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 04:16 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

safety harness on roof


tree cutting is another one of those tasks that looks easy when the experienced guy is doing it.

__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The moving Ice Dams after using a roof rake ?? Canufixit Roofing/Siding 9 02-05-2009 07:33 PM
Flat roof questions, advice, ballpark estimate JerryH Roofing/Siding 18 11-07-2008 04:08 PM
Flat roof - Rolled? - leaks Advice? JJ2001 Roofing/Siding 4 11-19-2006 06:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.