Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 05:06 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 183
Share |
Default

Roofing Underlayment


That pipe is missing the roof flange.
You have 2 good options, call your hydro company get power shut off and get a proper flange on there.
Order a 2 piece split flange, and have it soldered on site.
I would go with the 2 piece, but I can solder galv.
Your un-good options involve a crap tonne of tar or caulking and will not last, and possibly not work at all.

Regarding the valley, Have you cut the tops of the caps at all? That should help it lay down, if your worried about leaking from the cut, it shouldn't if the valley shingles are installed proper. I would also cut a V out of the shingle course their going under to help it lay down. No matter what you do you will have a slight bump because of all the layers there

PatChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 05:16 PM   #32
Doing This Way Too Long
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,106
Default

Roofing Underlayment


Looks acceptable from that pic.
OldNBroken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 06:08 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 38
Default

Roofing Underlayment


When i reached the intersecting roof with the ridge cap i cut the top of the ridge cap down the center a little bit so it would lay as flat as it can and put some tar on the split. The only flanges i've found around here are for pipes coming out of the roof somewhere in the center, but not on the edge of a roof, i know of these i've used them before, but never had a pipe on the edge of a roof. Never heard of a two piece flange i'll have to look into that, i pretty much just need half of a flange. Could i take one like they sell at home depot and cut it in half maybe a little more? Previous roofers had nothing around this pipe and the only thing holding it up was the dripedge cut around it (real smart), but now i secured it properly. Also i've never used these type of ridge cap shingles, they are doubled up. I was told thats how they come for architectural shingles.
jpm6621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:54 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 38
Default

Roofing Underlayment


Completed.
Attached Thumbnails
Roofing Underlayment-image.jpg  

jpm6621 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jpm6621 For This Useful Post:
Windows on Wash (06-25-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help in deciding the underlayment for roofing homeroofing2 Roofing/Siding 16 12-26-2012 07:09 PM
Roofing 15# felt underlayment or Titanium UDL 30 Synthetic Underlayment?? WRAE Roofing/Siding 15 07-08-2012 08:24 PM
Manufacture History Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 6 02-23-2012 02:40 AM
Roofing Material History Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 4 09-08-2011 04:49 PM
Roll Roofing Edge Leak toolboxone Roofing/Siding 5 10-07-2009 06:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.