Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 10:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Roofing. Staples


How long of staples needed for 3 tab shingles?

Pat White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,373
Default

Roofing. Staples


I would use 1 or longer galvanized roofing nails for best results to secure your shingles and use T50 () staples to install 30lb felt paper across the balance of the roof sheathing, lapping each course by at least three inches. Temporarily cover any vent holes to rainproof roof.

epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,040
Default

Roofing. Staples


where are you? they are not allowed here
mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:03 AM   #4
Member
 
chb70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 60
Default

Roofing. Staples


We use 1 1/4" Galvinized roofing nails when installing directly into wood deck.
1 1/2" for going over 1 layer of shingles.

Staples should not be used.

Make sure to follow the manufactures instructions on the bundle of shingles for nailing pattern for warranty. Certain areas call for a 4 nail pattern others a 6 nail pattern in high wind areas.
__________________
RSC Builders, Inc
Can You Dig It!
Complete Roof
chb70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:10 AM   #5
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,831
Default

Roofing. Staples


you may want to check with your building department and find out what your wind zone is. your profile does not indicate your location. Each manufacturer have their own nailing schedule for the various wind zones (i.e., 90 mph, 100 mph, 110 mph). Depending on your wind zone staples may not be allowed.

myself I would never use staples, but then I'm "old school."

install in strict compliance with the manufacturer's instructions. if you do not, you just voided your warranty.

Good luck!
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GBrackins For This Useful Post:
seeyou (09-19-2012)
Old 09-18-2012, 10:23 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,199
Default

Roofing. Staples


Ever notice how many store bought sheds have missing shingles. It's because they used staples, not nails.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing The "Right" Roofing Contractor, How To Evaluate Who Is Right! Ed the Roofer Roofing/Siding 27 04-25-2013 05:10 AM
Manufacture History Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 6 02-23-2012 02:40 AM
Roofing Material History Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 4 09-08-2011 04:49 PM
Roofing Staples. Whodog94 Roofing/Siding 4 10-18-2010 07:01 PM
Roll Roofing Edge Leak toolboxone Roofing/Siding 5 10-07-2009 06:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.