Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 12:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

roofing


When roofing over an existing roof, no leaks, do I need to re-flash around the chimney, or any other step flashing areas? DO I need to trim off shingles at roof line, and put drip edge?

douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:53 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

roofing


Quote:
Originally Posted by douglas r View Post
When roofing over an existing roof, no leaks, do I need to re-flash around the chimney, or any other step flashing areas? DO I need to trim off shingles at roof line, and put drip edge?
do i need to use felt paper 15 lb or 30 lb??? do i need to trim at gutter or go over , This is an old 3 tab roof only layer

douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

roofing


Quote:
Originally Posted by douglas r View Post
When roofing over an existing roof, no leaks, do I need to re-flash around the chimney, or any other step flashing areas? DO I need to trim off shingles at roof line, and put drip edge?
do i need to use felt paper 15 lb or 30 lb??? do i need to trim at gutter or go over , This is an old 3 tab roof only one layer with no leaks do i need to trim off edge of roof line and put drip edge ? do i need to re-flash around chimney or other step flashing areas
douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,914
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

roofing


Why are you not removing the old roof? No way to check for sheathing damage without removing the old.
Going to cost double at some point to remove two layers.
Sorry just not a big fan of roof overs.

No you do not have to reflash the chimmney.
No felt paper needed.
Just cut them even with the old shingles on the edges.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
ddawg16 (08-27-2014), roofermann (08-27-2014)
Old 09-12-2012, 01:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

roofing


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Why are you not removing the old roof? No way to check for sheathing damage without removing the old.
Going to cost double at some point to remove two layers.
Sorry just not a big fan of roof overs.

No you do not have to reflash the chimmney.
No felt paper needed.
Just cut them even with the old shingles on the edges.
I can see from attait no dis color wood looks great and will be selling so you say no new drip just shingle over as same.
douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 01:14 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

roofing


I'm re-roofing do I need to use felt paper ( forgot no leeks in old roof. all is well just want to catch it before bad it is old 3tab) or re-flash old flashing or drip edge what say you.
douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 02:26 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

roofing


It's not a good idea to roof over. But if you do. Trim back shingles away from eave drip. Remove old ridge caps. Install new eave drip and flashing and new pipe flanges. Refelt roof with 15 or 30 lb felt. Use 1 1/2 roofing nails so new shingles will go through existing roof into decking.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
qtiproofer82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 02:49 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,469
Rewards Points: 2,282
Default

roofing


When you do a roof over, you are doubling the weight on your roof.

And every roof over I've seen looks like crape. After a few days of sun, you start to see all the bumps and valleys of the old roof.

It's about par to painting your car without sanding it first.

If you're using cheap 3 tab shingles....it looks even worse.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
roofermann (08-27-2014)
Old 08-28-2014, 01:32 PM   #9
Low Slope Roofing
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 573
Rewards Points: 624
Default

roofing


You can trim the first row of shingles so they but up against the 2nd course, and then continue on like. It will make the roof less lumpy but it's still a terrible idea and I feel sorry for who ever you pass this burden on to. Now they get to pay double to tear off a roof that you were to cheap to do correctly because "i'm selling it" I hope that you have to reroof it to close the sale and they reject it because you want to be a tight wad.

Oh and I forgot, make sure to use a double row of ice and water shield at all eve's and in the valleys also. I wouldn't use anything less then grace rip cord underlayment for the rest of the roof. All new flashing since it is a lay over is a must. I'd use copper, eve's rakes and chimney. Make sure that they are rigleted in to the block if applicable. Anything less and it's a waste of time even putting new shingles on. I like the Owens corning 3 tabs my self.
1985gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 01:46 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 216
Rewards Points: 190
Default

roofing


no felt, just roof over it, you know reroof is what its called. ive reroofed many homes and have never had a problem in 40 years. never. if anything you pick up some insulation form the old roof. there a roofing shingle called presidential shingles, 6 bundles per square, reroof and thats what you have, three bundles for the original roof and three form the new roof. it will never leak. unless you mess up something around the flashings. i always flash everything the same way as original roof, pry them up to get under them.

hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing The "Right" Roofing Contractor, How To Evaluate Who Is Right! Ed the Roofer Roofing/Siding 27 04-25-2013 05:10 AM
Manufacture History Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 6 02-23-2012 02:40 AM
Roofing Material History Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 4 09-08-2011 04:49 PM
Multiple Roofing issues on my home. *HELP!* 2bsure Roofing/Siding 4 12-16-2009 09:29 PM
Roll Roofing Edge Leak toolboxone Roofing/Siding 5 10-07-2009 06:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.