Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 12:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

roofing


When roofing over an existing roof, no leaks, do I need to re-flash around the chimney, or any other step flashing areas? DO I need to trim off shingles at roof line, and put drip edge?

douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:53 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

roofing


Quote:
Originally Posted by douglas r View Post
When roofing over an existing roof, no leaks, do I need to re-flash around the chimney, or any other step flashing areas? DO I need to trim off shingles at roof line, and put drip edge?
do i need to use felt paper 15 lb or 30 lb??? do i need to trim at gutter or go over , This is an old 3 tab roof only layer

douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

roofing


Quote:
Originally Posted by douglas r View Post
When roofing over an existing roof, no leaks, do I need to re-flash around the chimney, or any other step flashing areas? DO I need to trim off shingles at roof line, and put drip edge?
do i need to use felt paper 15 lb or 30 lb??? do i need to trim at gutter or go over , This is an old 3 tab roof only one layer with no leaks do i need to trim off edge of roof line and put drip edge ? do i need to re-flash around chimney or other step flashing areas
douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,829
Default

roofing


Why are you not removing the old roof? No way to check for sheathing damage without removing the old.
Going to cost double at some point to remove two layers.
Sorry just not a big fan of roof overs.

No you do not have to reflash the chimmney.
No felt paper needed.
Just cut them even with the old shingles on the edges.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 01:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

roofing


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Why are you not removing the old roof? No way to check for sheathing damage without removing the old.
Going to cost double at some point to remove two layers.
Sorry just not a big fan of roof overs.

No you do not have to reflash the chimmney.
No felt paper needed.
Just cut them even with the old shingles on the edges.
I can see from attait no dis color wood looks great and will be selling so you say no new drip just shingle over as same.
douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 01:14 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

roofing


I'm re-roofing do I need to use felt paper ( forgot no leeks in old roof. all is well just want to catch it before bad it is old 3tab) or re-flash old flashing or drip edge what say you.

douglas r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing The "Right" Roofing Contractor, How To Evaluate Who Is Right! Ed the Roofer Roofing/Siding 27 04-25-2013 05:10 AM
Manufacture History Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 6 02-23-2012 02:40 AM
Roofing Material History Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 4 09-08-2011 04:49 PM
Multiple Roofing issues on my home. *HELP!* 2bsure Roofing/Siding 4 12-16-2009 09:29 PM
Roll Roofing Edge Leak toolboxone Roofing/Siding 5 10-07-2009 06:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.