Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-12-2013, 09:14 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Roof Questions for DIY Shed

Hi Folks,

I'm a beginner working on building a 10'x10' shed. I've got my walls and rafters up and I'm gearing up to tackle the roof this weekend. I've got a whole mess of questions.

First the background:
  • 10'x10' shed
  • 4/12 Pitch Gable Rafter Roof 24" o.c.
  • 2x6 Fascia nailed on gable ends (no overhang outside of this)
  • Planning for 1" eaves and soffit covering on sides
  • Rafter tails plumb cut with 2x6 fascia board attached
Questions:
  • When I add a metal drip edge, does that go before or after felt paper?
  • Thoughts on vinyl vs. aluminum soffit?
  • Where should I nail the soffit, to the bottom of the fascia board or do I add a nailer somewhere?
  • How to I frame the ends where my plumb cut gable end fascia hits the side gable fascia? Do I just fill in the triangle that would be exposed with some cut wood? How is that trimmed?
  • Should I overhang my plywood on either the ends or sides of the roof? (I'm not adding gutters)
  • I probably just need a basic guide on how to install the soffit for a project like this if anyone has a good reference website or is interested in writing one.
Thanks again for all of those who have got me to this point and in advance for this BIG list of questions

mklein49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:53 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 32

What's the plan for siding?
Any reason why there's no plans for some over hang?
It sure helps to have one. The siding windows and doors will thank you.
Anything I build has at least 6" over hang on all sides to help keep the water from just running down the siding and over the windows. It also keeps the drip line further away from the siding at the bottom.