Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-18-2011, 09:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Cool

Roof over the backyard

Hi,
Newbie here...
I have a 1000 square feet of backyard space that I would like to cover. There is a 2 and 3 story building on 2 sides that look directly down on my property so I get ZERO privacy. Thinking the best way to cover the entire are....ie...Pergolas, Roof, etc. Would love to covert to a kids play area, possibly a pool table, workout area, sitting.
Any feedback would be great.
Thanks
DanMat

DanMat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 08:21 AM   #2

Wink

Roof over the backyard

Hi there, also a newbie in this forum. Just got married and now planning to build a new house. I think that's a nice plan you have there. Don't forget to post pictures after that beautiful house project of yours.

roofingpreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 09:12 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,006

Roof over the backyard

Post pictures of what's existing -
too many variables/factors for anyone to give you feedback.
Welcome!

rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 09:21 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 500

Roof over the backyard

Might want to consult your building department. There are "coverage" requirements for specific land-uses and also setback from adjacent properties for fire codes. While a great idea in theory, you might not be able to do it because of zoning restrictions.

Point of reference: http://www.newfairfield.org/filestor...0-1-09_(3).pdf

Specifically look at section 1.5.8 subsection C. I've done work in this City and they allow no more than 25% coverage of the lots in their "residential" zone. So a 1,000 sq.ft. home would need a 4,000sq.ft. lot.
Old 08-22-2011, 01:00 PM   #5

Roof over the backyard

Hi