Roof Heat Tape - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2009, 07:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

roof heat tape


I have a VERY high roof and 2 years ago put top brand heat tape 120 ft, to keep ice damn clear, this year it shorted out at the thermostat by the plug, I fixed it but little wire"fuse" inside didnt stay when it got cold, any way I can cut and wire another Fuse end to the old tape? It is so hard to replace what I have and would be worth buying the tape just to replace the fuse and wiring in a new one. Suggestions???

Advertisement

litedoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 07:48 PM   #2
Dave The Roofer
 
Dave The Roofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Send a message via AIM to Dave The Roofer
Default

roof heat tape


Quote:
Originally Posted by litedoc View Post
I have a VERY high roof and 2 years ago put top brand heat tape 120 ft, to keep ice damn clear, this year it shorted out at the thermostat by the plug, I fixed it but little wire"fuse" inside didnt stay when it got cold, any way I can cut and wire another Fuse end to the old tape? It is so hard to replace what I have and would be worth buying the tape just to replace the fuse and wiring in a new one. Suggestions???
Try This....
Snow and ice removal systems manufactured by Thermal Technologies provide an attractive and cost effective method to ensure that a building owner never has to experience the frustration, destructiveness and cost of water damage caused by the inability of their roof to drain water during the winter months.

Advertisement

Dave The Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 06:22 PM   #3
Electric Radiant Heating
 
warmsmeallup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

roof heat tape


Quote:
Originally Posted by litedoc View Post
I fixed it but little wire"fuse" inside didnt stay when it got cold,
Something is causing the fuse to blow... twice! Look for splices in the cable that are no longer sealed. At the end, there will also be a 'termination cap'. Check it as well to be sure it is still sealed.

The fuse is made to blow when too much energy is being drawn. If it worked last year and it doesn't this, something has happened to cause it to blow. Just replacing the fuse or thermostat won't repair the problem.
__________________
www.comfortradiant.net
warmsmeallup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown Insulation - Flat roof AndrewF Roofing/Siding 1 12-31-2009 07:41 PM
Extend House Roof Over Back Deck Justahome Carpentry 1 04-03-2009 08:25 PM
Roof Venting Issue, crawlspace supton Roofing/Siding 1 11-12-2008 07:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts