Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 07:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Ridge Vents


Can a ridge vent be installed after a roof is completed?

handywoman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,187
Default

Ridge Vents


That would be doing it backwards, but a ridge vent can be added anytime.
Your going to have to go back and remove the ridge cap shingles, remove enough shingle so you can snap a line and cut back the sheathing 1-3/4" from the center of the roof on both sides, install the ridge vent then the new ridge caps.
You need to leave about 12" on the ends with just the old shingle caps. (ridge vent is never suppost to be run all the way to the ends of the roof)

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:33 PM   #3
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,901
Default

Ridge Vents


Yes.

More importantly, do you have intake air?

What is the current venting?
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:32 AM   #4
Pro Slate Roofer
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 1,589
Default

Ridge Vents


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
You need to leave about 12" on the ends with just the old shingle caps. (ridge vent is never suppost to be run all the way to the ends of the roof)
Actually, you leave the uncut wood and shingles over the ridge at the ends, and run the RV all the way to the ends. Going over cap at the ends actually leaves a slight ramp that will allow water to follow the slope or the last cap under the RV.
It also gives a smoother, more polished appearance than that slight rise on the ends by going over to layers of cap.
http://www.albertsroofing.com/Ridge%20Vent%20Detail.htm
tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:49 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 43
Default

Ridge Vents


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows on Wash View Post
Yes.

More importantly, do you have intake air?

What is the current venting?
I am finding out how important the soffit vents are for intake air. In preparation for my new roof with ridge vent, I am adding 17 more 16x4 soffit vents.

I added 8 vents to the low section that I could reach by step ladder, and I can really tell a difference in the attic!

And the existing ventilation wasnt lame by any means, with 41 vents spaced 48" apart.

Al
AlleyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of installing ridge vents... calikingTX Roofing/Siding 10 07-29-2012 11:02 PM
Have Gable/Soffit Vents Contractor Suggest Ridge Vents sallygump50 Roofing/Siding 3 05-11-2012 10:56 AM
Ridge vents, soffit vents, end gable vent confusion. joemill Roofing/Siding 4 04-01-2012 05:18 PM
Atic: Adding Intake and Exhaust Vents (Maybe Ridge) arcane Roofing/Siding 9 07-22-2010 06:20 PM
I am ready to get rid of the ridge vents PerpetuallyRepairing Roofing/Siding 20 04-15-2009 09:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.