Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-17-2011, 07:31 AM   #1
Lost..

Rewards Points: 258

Ridge vent shingling..How to do it properly?

What is the best way to shingle a ridge vent? I have never done a roof before and this is the only part that I can't find detailed instructions on.

I understand the installation of the vent itself. cut slot in ridge of roof..leave about a foot or so on each end uncut..

I understand the part about making ridge shingles, taking a regular 3 tab shingle and cutting it into three tabs...cutting a taper on the backs of each piece..each piece overlaps the other all the way across..

I have seen several tutorials online and even went to the book store the other night and found a couple of home remodel books. Several even had articles on ridge vent installation but none are detailed enough and they all contradict each other.

I know that the last shinlgle piece put down has to be correct because if it isn't the roof will leak. I know I will have to get some roffing tar and do it correctly.

Can somebody point me towards a very detailed article or explain this to me?

Thanks

J S Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:17 PM   #2
Pro Slate Roofer

Rewards Points: 1,016

Quote:
Originally Posted by J S Machine View Post
What is the best way to shingle a ridge vent? I have never done a roof before and this is the only part that I can't find detailed instructions on.

I understand the installation of the vent itself. cut slot in ridge of roof..leave about a foot or so on each end uncut..

I understand the part about making ridge shingles, taking a regular 3 tab shingle and cutting it into three tabs...cutting a taper on the backs of each piece..each piece overlaps the other all the way across..