Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 07:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

ridge vent issue


roofer installed typar over the ridgevent and then installed cobra vent and filter. we are up in the adirondacks (cold weather) and building a new log home. the house is retaining moisture and the insullator says it is because he put the typar barrier up and the house is not breathing properly. should be slice the typar open, which was pput there to further protect against bug intrusion?

wrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:01 AM   #2
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Default

ridge vent issue


I would use screen over the vent instead of Typar.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 05:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Default

ridge vent issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by wrene View Post
roofer installed typar over the ridgevent and then installed cobra vent and filter. we are up in the adirondacks (cold weather) and building a new log home. the house is retaining moisture and the insullator says it is because he put the typar barrier up and the house is not breathing properly. should be slice the typar open, which was pput there to further protect against bug intrusion?
I have the Omni Ridge Vent on my home. The plastic one that comes in the 4 foot sections. I live in Minnesota and we get lots of snow here. When we get a strong wind, snow will come into your attic. Lots of it too. The fine snow will come in through the slots in this product and sit in the attic. It eventually will melt and ruin insulation, sheetrock and whatever else lies beneath. I would suggest using a different product if it's not to late.
azl6dpx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 05:25 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Default

ridge vent issue


I have the Omni Ridge Vent on my home. The plastic one that comes in the 4 foot sections. I live in Minnesota and we get lots of snow here. When we get a strong wind, snow will come into your attic. Lots of it too. The fine snow will come in through the slots in this product and sit in the attic. It eventually will melt and ruin insulation, sheetrock and whatever else lies beneath. I would suggest using a different product if it's not to late.
azl6dpx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 06:33 AM   #5
Residential Roofer
 
Slyfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Struthers, Ohio
Posts: 803
Default

ridge vent issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by wrene View Post
roofer installed typar over the ridgevent and then installed cobra vent and filter. we are up in the adirondacks (cold weather) and building a new log home. the house is retaining moisture and the insullator says it is because he put the typar barrier up and the house is not breathing properly. should be slice the typar open, which was pput there to further protect against bug intrusion?
If your roofer installed typar over the slot in the deck and than installed the ridge vent, the ridge vent is not working 'breathing' and you simply need to cut that typar out, if you have a large enough attic/crawl space over your ceiling area you can cut it out from inside with out removing the ridge vent.
(Being extremely careful to not cut the vent)

You do not need bug protection under the ridge vent, only need that at the ends and they make end caps.
__________________
God Family Country Work Play
Facebook <> Twitter
Slyfox Exteriors Co.
Slyfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridge vent on 2:12 slope cathedral roof DaveM75 Roofing/Siding 4 08-19-2010 11:06 AM
proper intake vents for ridge vent?? arty007 Roofing/Siding 14 07-31-2010 12:28 PM
ridge vent w/ roof louvres? byocum Roofing/Siding 3 08-31-2009 06:17 PM
Ridge vent leaking? Or what? Whatever1 Roofing/Siding 10 09-25-2008 06:24 PM
sofit vents + gable end vents no ridge vent mattg1970 Roofing/Siding 5 10-18-2007 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.