Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2008, 08:47 PM   #1
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


I've recently discovered that my ridge vent is not keeping my attic cool. My attic is about 700 sq and I have soffit around the entire perimeter. I decided to upgrade to a gable vent. Do I need to clog the ridge vent in order for the gable vent to work properly? Has anyone heard of modifying the ridge vent?

jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 10:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


What brand, type or style of Ridge Vent do you have in place?

Is the vent slot cut out to the proper width?

Only one type of Exhaust Ventilation source should be used, so block the ridge vent slot if you are going to use gable vent fans. Otherwise, the theory goes, that the ventilation will be short-circuited.

Wait a minute. Is it plain old gable vents, or the gable vents with a fan and motor in it?

Ed

Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 09:35 AM   #3
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


Hi Ed,

What brand, type or style of Ridge Vent do you have in place? MASTER FLOW PG2

Is the vent slot cut out to the proper width? I just purchased the gable vent, I did not install it yet.

Only one type of Exhaust Ventilation source should be used, so block the ridge vent slot if you are going to use gable vent fans. Otherwise, the theory goes, that the ventilation will be short-circuited. Any ideas on what to block the ridge vent with?

Wait a minute. Is it plain old gable vents, or the gable vents with a fan and motor in it? It's a gable vent with a fan, motor and thermostat in it.

Thank you
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 10:30 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


I am not familiar with the Master Flow PG2, so I will check it out later, unless you supply a link to it. I am sure I can find it easy enough.

You can probably use a hand stapler and shoot 3/8" staples int a double folded sheet of plastic visqueen just under the ridge vent slot to close it off since your gable vent is one with a powered fan.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 12:28 PM   #5
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


Thanks Ed.

http://www.doityourself.com/invt/6393391

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...66_10053_10051
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 03:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


Thats why I did not know of it, because you were referring to a Powered Gable Vent.

I was initially asking you, "What Brand Of Ridge Vent" do you currently have on your home.

Some brands do not function as proclaimed. Most are the roll out versions, like Cobra Roll Vent or Roll Vent from Benjamin Opydyke.

They do not contain external wind deflecting baffles, like the Shingle Vent II Ridge Vent from Air Vent or the Cobra Snow Country Ridge Vent from GAF.

That gable vent you showed only has a thermostat for temperature settings. A preferable unit, from Air Vent Corp., would also have a Humidistat to expell the excessive humidity content built up inside and also function during the colder months when the thermostat will not kick on.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 09:06 PM   #7
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


The Master Flow is made by GAF so hopefully it is decent. Would you say most people have powered vents with a Humidistat?
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 09:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


Most people only know what Home Depot or Lowes sells, so No, they would not typically know about the humidistat versions.

I am sure it is a good temperature fan, but not functional for year round productivity.

Ed

Last edited by Ed the Roofer; 06-08-2008 at 04:45 PM.
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 01:22 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


Ed

What if the gable vents did not have powered fans? Is the gable vent then not as effective as the ridge vent? Do gable vents need powered fans to work effectively.

Thanks
wsuswim147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 04:50 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


A gable roof with non-powered Gable Vents on opposing sides would need air to be blowing directly in the windward side and exhaust out of the leeward side.

Even under that optimum wind direction scenario, the cooler air that would enter the one side would ellipse downwards into the bottom of the attic floor until its molecules heated up and then began to rise again at the opposite side of the attic.

The hot air in the attic which has already accumulated and risen to the peal of the attic, probably would mostly be unaffected and be bypassed, so in essence, the hot air did not get expelled from this model. Only the new air flowing in and traveling under its wind current has passed through.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 08:30 AM   #11
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Ridge Vent > Gable Vent


It seems that spending $75 and an hour of time time is well worth if you plan to utilize the space in your attic. After ed's comments and doing a little more research, I've decided to return my powered gable vent and go with a powered roof vent. A CS rep at GAF said the best way to clog the ridge vent is with pipe insulation.

Thanks again Ed

jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridge Vent on a Shed jokiddjr Roofing/Siding 5 03-14-2008 04:22 PM
low-slope roof and leaky ridge vent downers Roofing/Siding 15 02-22-2008 12:35 AM
Is ridge and gable vent compatible? no soffits sandyman720 Roofing/Siding 10 01-19-2008 03:34 PM
sofit vents + gable end vents no ridge vent mattg1970 Roofing/Siding 5 10-18-2007 10:47 AM
Another Ridge Vent, Gable vent and soffit question (??) davco Roofing/Siding 2 05-01-2007 12:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.