Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 10:31 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Replacing wood shingle roof


Posts: 6




Haven't put on a new roof in 30 some years. Forgot what little I know. Have a shed with rotten wood shingles, strip sheathed, 10X8. How many wood shingles will I need? Still using tar paper under? Anything else I need to remember?

Lootas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:09 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Boston Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing wood shingle roof


it all depends on what kind of wood species shingle/shake and the size of the coarses.
examples:
80 sq ft divided by 100 times 3 will give you 4 inch courses.
80 sq ft divided by 100 times 2 will give you 6 inch courses.
red cedar can be larger courses (stiffer, less curl)
white cedar courses usually don't exceed 5 inches (curl easy with wider couses)

Hope this helps

3rdGeneration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 03:31 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing wood shingle roof


with wood shake shingles, the supplier short be able to let you know how many bundles of shakes you need. 8x10 ft is 0.8 square (80 square ft) without taking into consideration any pitch that wasn't factored in. with about 7 bundles of 18" shake making a square and 5 bundles of 24" making a square, with waste you are looking at about a little more than a square of shake needed (with shake starter, ridge, and waste). in your situation, I'd probably be looking at the 18" shake, aesthetically, because of the size roof.
as for the underlayment, use regular roofing felt, 15 lb is fine, but use 30lb if it's slope is lower than 4/12. ideally, you would install felt strips that actually slide up to about a couple inches below when the end of the shake is. they slide in between each layer of shakes. for fastening, you have to use galvanized hot-dipped nails.
caliberroofs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Replacing a Roof in Arizona where the AC Unit is mounted on the Roof ! stevekevin Roofing/Siding 7 05-23-2010 11:55 PM
Putting a new flat roof on a 3600 sf home Jean3 Off Topic 2 04-09-2010 12:35 AM
Replacing peaked roof with a flat roof....? earthtoned Building & Construction 2 01-21-2010 04:28 PM
Do I need to replace a rotten sill plate met Carpentry 8 07-11-2008 09:14 AM
Old Wood Shake Roof Eddie Roofing/Siding 9 09-15-2005 09:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.