Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-05-2014, 10:37 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 81
Question

replacing roof questions

I have a pretty standard roof on my split level home.

I have about 4 leaks, 2 I can fix up easily on the facets, but one is around the roof stack which is probably going to cost $400~ to repair as I have no knowledge of how to do that section. IF I would just repair that part. The previous owner extended the roof with a few trusts and installed the shingles poorly (nails jutting up, never removed old gutter hangers) so we're getting some leaks around that edge of the house too... and rough quote of about $2k on that part. SELA guy pointed out that the roof was not installed correctly either 18 years ago, the shingle do not overhang half inch or so, they're actually in about 1/8 inch which could cause leaks as well.

I got a quote from SELA for a repair of the leaks for 2k and whole roof for $6100.

The roof is about 18 years old, and is single layer. My GUESS is it would be wise to just replace the entire roof.

I am having a few other companies come out and quote, but what questions should I ask exactly? How long is labor warranty, shingle warranty (what shingles should I get even?), new facets?, building paper quality, etc?

Not sure what else I should cover. I don't want to get the cheapest quote, I assume I would want to go with the company who has a decent history, and decent pricing.

Thanks all!

vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 11:12 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 718

replacing roof questions

The roof should be completely replaced at this point.Standard underlayment on shingle roofs is 15# felt.I use 30 for little more cost.In your location I would ask about ice and water shield and get a good quality dimensional shingle.Don't know what you mean by