Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-08-2008, 10:46 AM   #1

Share |

replace eavestroughs? gutter protection?

hello everyone,

i have a hole in one of my gutters and the nails are coming out of the sides as well. i'm new to home ownerships and i'm trying to figure out how to determine when to replace eavestroughs vs. simply fixing the hole and hammering the nails back in.

i've had two quotes so far which were so different. both also gave me the option of cleaning them as well so i'm trying to figure out whether the really need replacing or not. i've been told by the neighbour that my gutters have not been replaced since he's been living there (20+ years).

also, is gutter protection worth considering and really maintenance free? if so, is there a particular system that one would recommend? any ideas of how much gutter protection adds to the cost of installation?

thanks in advance for any help!

kianeedshelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 06:28 PM   #2

If you have a hole in your gutter, it is probably an old galvanized steel gutter. If it still looks good otherwise, it can be repaired with a 2 part epoxy mix and reinforcement fiberglass compound.

The hangers pulling away, indicate that you have the cheaper, "Spike and Ferrule" attachment system.

Remove thos and replace with proper HangTite or Omni Gutter hanging brackets which should get attached with spiral shank aluminum nails.

Most gutter protection devices have some drawbacks. None are universally competant for all organic debris.

List which brands you have considerd and I could tell you more. There a a gazzilion manufacturers out there now, all claiming that you will never have to clean out your gutters again.