Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-26-2011, 05:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Removing Bedroom Skylight

I have a skylight in our master bedroom that the original owners built in. (See attached photo) To me it's in the most ridiculous location. It's not centered in the room in the firstplace and the skylight is way up in the ceiling rendering it useless. To make matters worse there is evidence of a prior leak and there is some kind of darkening film on it from the outside. A guy at work (who's built homes before told me it would not be that much for a good roofer to come in and take out the skylight and reshingle the roof. The skylight is on the rear of the house so any color differences in shingles would not be seen from the road. I have another friend who does great drywall work and can fill in the opening in the bedroom and paint the entire ceiling. I was told that everything would be around $600..does that seem reasonable for this amount of work?
Attached Images

scsiguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 09:22 PM   #2
Pro Slate Roofer

Rewards Points: 1,016

That figure could be right. Maybe only $450, to remove the lite, resheath, and patch in, 3-5 hours. Maybe.
Inside, reframe the bottom of the hole, put in a center joist, and sheet it. About $250. Tape and paint, a tad more.

I'm looking at it from here, not there though.

tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 09:24 PM   #3
Pro Slate Roofer

If you wanted to light that room up any, get tube lites. Much better for this application. Keep in mind, bedroom skylights can be distracting at night.
Old 01-26-2011, 09:41 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinner666
That figure could be right. Maybe only $450, to remove the lite, resheath, and patch in, 3-5 hours. Maybe.