Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-13-2011, 06:04 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

The real OC Duration products?

Hello roofing Pros --- Please, first, I'm looking for some insight into the Owens Corning "Duration" line, and next, possibly some direction to a different mfg. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME ON ONE OF THESE SITES, SO PLEASE BEAR WITH ME!

A little history here--- In February this year I got my plans together for a new main roof (and very small "bump-out" addition, plus adding 3 skylights to the main), got my permit (in my area--Maryland--you also need one when you're tearing off down to the trusses/rafters), selected my materials and got quotes (including OC Duration Premium, finally), anticipating plowing into this project as soon as weather permitted. However, after no spring this year in my area, quickly followed by me totaling my knee/surgery/months on crutches and rehab, I am now ready, and praying for a warm fall.

I just got quotes updated and found out "Duration Premium"(DP) no longer exists, nor does "Duration"(D), and (best I can tell) were replaced w/ "Duration Premium Cool"(DPC) and the "TruDefinition Duration"(Tru) lines respectively. Furthermore, I see that Tru is packaged 3 bundles/sq (like the D was) and DPC is 4bndls/sq just like the DP was. If I remember correctly (?) DP was about 30lbs+/sq heavier than D (therefore the 4bndls vs. 3b/sq)---OC plays "close-to-the-vest" and doesn't post lbs/sq on their website. This all seems like an OC marketing ploy, and I don't care that the "new" Tru is now rated for 130mph winds and carries a lifetime warranty. One can rate any product to any wind speed by testing in a lab and warrant it for 2 lifetimes, but who is going to be around long enough to ***** or listen?