Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2006, 11:43 AM   #1
More Power
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: long island, new york
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

range hood vent


my range hood vents through the roof. I would guesstimate about 10' of ductwork. I am reroofing at the moment and I'm replacing the roof vent over that duct which is aluminum. Can I use one of the resin types over the duct from the range hood or should I stick with aluminum. Thanks for the time. By the way, the damper is either in the hood or in the duct, it is not in the roof vent.

vinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 06:42 PM   #2
MJW
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 938
Rewards Points: 0
Default

range hood vent


I always put in new steel ones. You can buy the broan ones from most stores. I have in the past used a regular vent and a seperate baffle that fits into it.

MJW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 07:37 PM   #3
More Power
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: long island, new york
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

range hood vent


thanks for the reply mjw.
vinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

range hood vent


Does anyone know if venting through a slate roof requires a different approach than more conventional roofing shingles?
rich12072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:37 PM   #5
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 6,259
Rewards Points: 100
Default

range hood vent


Yes.

Seeing as you do not want to disturb slate with any regularity, it is recommended that you use a more permanent option as compared to standard rubber roof boots.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:53 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

range hood vent


Thanks Windows On Wash. Can you tell me what should be used instead and where I can get the materials needed?
rich12072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:23 PM   #7
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 6,259
Rewards Points: 100
Default

range hood vent


Quote:
Originally Posted by rich12072 View Post
Thanks Windows On Wash. Can you tell me what should be used instead and where I can get the materials needed?

Look for some posts by tinner666 and pm him.

He is a slate expert.

Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vent Hood CFM's wease Appliances 14 04-20-2012 07:00 AM
custom range hood weekend warrior 1947 Carpentry 5 05-25-2011 06:59 PM
noise from vicinity of range hood squished18 HVAC 8 04-20-2010 12:15 PM
Can I Wire a range hood to an exhisting outlet? skellies Electrical 2 05-09-2006 04:06 PM
Island Hood Vent Centering Problems Dana Remodeling 2 07-13-2005 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.