DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Problems With Atlas Shingles

228K views 116 replies 59 participants last post by  Peter Curtis 
#1 ·
I Would Be Interested In Hearing From Anyone Who Has Knowledge Of Problems (leaking, De-lamination, Etc, )with The Atlas "pinnacle" 35 Yr Laminated Shingles ( Also Georgia Pacific
(" Summitt" ) Shingle.

#78 ·
Commercial Roofer?

As a commercial roofer i find it odd that you use anything but low slope membrane roofs? Atlas is one of the newest upcoming shingles. In 2004 if you asked for Elk at a supply house they laughed you out. In 2007 when IKO made their push it was frowned on to be associated with them because they were cheap...Now its atlas. Every few years comes the new girl to the dance and although they're priced a buck or 2 less a square they certainly arent a cheap shingle. Atlas stand by their product and their contractors which is why weve put 1000 on already this season and intend on putting another 2k on throughout the country. Owens Corning and GAF tout how great they are yet a customer cant get thru the red corporate tape if they have to. Atlas is the only manufacturer ive dealt with thats contractor friendly since the 07 buy out of ELk. Mark my words, in a year Atlas will be the greatest thing since sliced bread and there will be a new up and coming brand...:thumbsup:

#3 ·
Atlas Roofing Products