Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-28-2013, 02:25 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Porch roof rebuild

Hi, I'm a newbie to anything like this. I'm 50yrs old, bad back and shoulders, but the city says I have to replace the porch roof, and the house roof, too. I'm starting with the porch, thinking to make my mistakes there. No, I haven't the money to hire anyone, nor do I have any credit to get a loan. I've tried. Believe me.

So, I've got my building permit, since I have to rip off the sheathing, as well as the rest. I have no help, but then, I'm used to that. I've done a bit of home repair (plumbing, drywall, etc.) so I do know which end of a hammer to use. It's either I do it, or I lose a house that's been in the family for over 100 years. I've decided I'm capable.

What I need is both a support group and a help guide. Is there any way of tearing off a porch roof without climbing on it? The roof has holes, and is so soft I don't wanna fall through. I've started on the edge, but parts nearer the house are in good shape, which means I have to pull nail by nail. And yes, it has three layers of asphalt over one of wooden shakes, over one of asphalt, and another of shakes. Plus most of the framing has to be replaced.

I've been very tempted to take a sawsall to the lot of it, but I'm afraid I'll end up with more problems that way. any suggestions?

Thanks!!
ShadowPaetz

Last edited by ShadowPaetz; 05-28-2013 at 02:26 PM. Reason: spelling
ShadowPaetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:42 PM   #2
Roofmaster

Rewards Points: 22

Porch roof rebuild

" SOOOOO....... aside from that Mrs. Lincoln, How was the Play?"

Is the roof leaking? How do you know you need to replace the sheathing?

Last edited by jagans; 05-28-2013 at 02:46 PM.
jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:46 PM   #3

Porch roof rebuild