Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-05-2012, 09:29 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Please advise on how to install a low-slope roof

I have a lean-to roof that slopes down about 11 inches over 9 feet. It's not flat by any means, but not steep either. I just reframed it and installed 1/2" plywood.

I need to re-roof this section myself. I have never done this before. I purchased a roll of roofing material and some felt paper from the local superstore.

Can anyone advise me on what materials to use, what order to apply them in, and how to apply the metal flashing edges?

I appreciate all responses.

spdorsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:47 AM   #2
Doing This Way Too Long

Rewards Points: 22

Step one: Acquire proper roofing material

OldNBroken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:33 AM   #3

All due respect, but that doesn't help much at all.
Old 04-05-2012, 10:44 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 192

What he's suggesting is roll roofing is one of the cheapest, shortest lasting most prone to leaking roofing materials you can buy.
You would be far better off with metal, or EPDM, anything but roll roofing.
If you look around in the roofing area you will find dozens of people with leaking roll roofing roofs asking how to fix them.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:48 AM   #5

Well, I'm happy to return the materials if that's the case. It would have been helpful for him to point that out.

I'd rather not use metal, I really don't like the look of it. The original lean-to (before I tore the roof off and re-framed) was rolled material, and it held up for ten years without a leak. But if there's something better that isn't too expensive, I'm happy to listen to the options.