Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-16-2012, 04:27 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Painting the underside of the roof?

We have a large Cathedral style Attic in a Victorian home - dormers on all four sides, lots of gables and interesting angles.

Originally we wanted to spray the underside of the roof deck and condition the space, but we decided it was too risky, that leaks would be undetectable until significant damage incurred and that the house had an unfinished attic for 120 years - it can stay that way.

Sadly, it's one of the most fantastic spaces I've ever seen and all of us want to use it, me as an artist, my husband as a musician and my teenager as a teenager. Abandoning the risky idea of insullation I'm thinking of making it a useable space that would depend on the weather - a single window unit in the hot summer would make it possible to hang out up there and a couple space heaters in the winter - with the hottest and coldest times being just off limits.

My question is a weird one - in order to make the space neat looking I'd love to PAINT the underside of the room (this would include the old old 2x4 rafters, the old old sheathing (? wooden cross slats under the roof material) and the paint would also get onto the back of the roofing material as well (in this case it's some black material - tar paper?

Would the paint effect moisture in a negative way or would this be harmless?

Thanks!

Heidi Kellner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 04:44 PM   #2
Doing This Way Too Long

Rewards Points: 524

No, it's fine. Just keep in mind it will be a real mess of a room when it comes time for a new roof though.

OldNBroken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 07:58 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 4,152

That would take one heck of an A/C unit to even put a dent in the temp.