Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-23-2009, 11:19 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Smile

overlapping standing seam tin

I purchased many pieces of standing seam, double bent tin to replace the damaged ones that were pulled up by the April 28th, 2008 tornado in Driver, VA.

I have purchased drip edge for it and prepared adequately for the two pitches that meet. However non of the pieces are long enough to cover the top section of my roof. This means overlapping and staggering the overlapped sections.

Is there a certain way to cut the pieces that overlap, before I lock them in place with the clips and bend them, or do I just overlap them 6 inches and apply a couple of screws with neoprene washes and a bead of rubber on each side of the screw? A roofer by profession has told me to over lap the two pieces and place rubber above and below the screws, the double bend the tin. I am no stranger to roofing as I have done 8 houses by myself with 3 tab or architect shingles. I am placing the drip edge on the lower secion tomorrow and will start putting down the bottom panels of tin. The are long enough.

What is the appropriate way to stagger the sections that will be joined?

I am not going to overlap the tin where the two pitches meet.

I have devised a way of sliding the lower tin under the upper section of roof approximately 6 inches, and have z bar to lock the upper and lower sections together. I also have flashing already installed that was specially made to overlap the bottom panels of the roof meeting the upper. Total overlap will be about 8 inches and the top section will lock to the lower section via Z bar, behind the z bar will be foam for sheet meta. The z bar will be sealed prior to locking down the top panels. The locking will be similar to the eave and gable drip edge lock.