Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-05-2012, 08:17 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Open Valley - Starter Strip

Hello from Canada. I am re-roofing the original roof on my house that was installed 15 years ago. Whoever the contractor was was either lazy or didn't give a crap. No ice/water under any valleys or along the eaves, no drip edge or over hang of shingles, no vents etc.

I have been involved in laying a couple roofs over the years that have turned out great but this is my first time dealing with valleys.

ANyways I've got two questions. I noticed that the current open valleys have a starter strip. This is not an " open california". Is this normal practice? I was under the impression this was not required on open valleys. Here is a pic of my current valleys.

Second question

What are your thoughts on the over hang of these small valley as in are they done properly? Things i should pay attention to when re-installng?I can find no info on valleys w/overhangs..maybe its simpler than I'm making it.

You can see the edge of a starter strip in the bottom left edge of the valley below.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Ciskman; 04-05-2012 at 08:32 AM.
Ciskman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:51 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 252

Open metal valleys usually has 3 foot wide ice and water shield, 20" wide metal, and shingles that overlap the metal by 5" on each side. The top corners of the shingles are clipped so water will be directed back into the valley. Using a starter strip isn't common practice.

To me, the overhang is good because it keeps water away from the fascia. That transition would be difficult to waterproof correctly if you shortened the overhang.

shazapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:26 PM   #3
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 3,016

I would check the venting on that roof as well.