Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2011, 09:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wilmington DE
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

no vent in the soffit and no room to install same


In reading some prior posts I wish my problem were as easy as the original posters to cure. I have no vent in the soffit and no room to install same as there is only about 1" of soffit material, wood covered with aluminum. I'm wondering if I should put a roof vent of some sort 6"-8" up the roof from the guttering. his all came about as the contractor who is doing the inside work on the kitchen pointed out I have no vent in my soffit. One of the items he is doing is raising the ceiling to a partial cathedral then leveling off to a flat ceiling at 10". He installed the foam channel under the roof sheathing but pointed out I have no place for the air to vent in. I already have a ridge vents and gable vents. Will this be sufficient? I don't see how...
Homeowner in DE

aa1bflyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:02 PM   #2
old timer
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 104
Default

no vent in the soffit and no room to install same


Quote:
I already have a ridge vents and gable vents. Will this be sufficient?
Not until you install some type of soffit vent. Look into the vents that install behind the gutter. DCI is one brand.

dmc@RCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 10:11 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

no vent in the soffit and no room to install same


Welcome to the forum! If you don't mind, I started your own thread rather than piggy-back or hi-jack another posters. You will get more answers this way.

Some basic reading for you; http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...on?full_view=1

http://www.ronhungarter.com/ventilation_repairs.html

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:38 PM   #4
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Default

no vent in the soffit and no room to install same


Quote:
Originally Posted by GBR in WA View Post
Welcome to the forum! If you don't mind, I started your own thread rather than piggy-back or hi-jack another posters. You will get more answers this way.

Some basic reading for you; http://www.buildingscience.com/docum...on?full_view=1

http://www.ronhungarter.com/ventilation_repairs.html

Gary
Good info,thank you sir.

Last edited by Roofmaster417; 02-08-2011 at 10:33 AM.
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 06:21 AM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,273
Default

no vent in the soffit and no room to install same


Title should have been "Moldy Attics and Why"

I've been dealing with moldy attics in a town home complex for years---About 10 years ago they reroofed the complex and eliminated the ridge vent and used to few mushroom vents.

In ten years the roofs are ruined---now all new sheeting and roofing is needed--Total cost to home owners---over $12,000 per unit----all because they cheaped out on the ridge vents 10 years ago--

And would not head my warnings 6 years ago to get the ridge vents in---Mike---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:44 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 63
Default

no vent in the soffit and no room to install same


youre in a tough situation,
this problem would have been best fixed during a reroof - as so many roof issues seem to be - but I'm assuming thats not an option here.

to achieve pass thru venting, one less desirable option is to drill holes thru the fascia board that the rafters are attached to - one hole per rafter.
The fascia board will be weakened with so many holes so a judgement call has to be made - how big can the holes can be, how exposed to the weather will the hole be, structural buttressing to make up for the weakening etc...
Good carpentry instincts are needed for this or even a strucxural enginner.

Then you gotta ask yourself if you really need to add soffit vents.
Are you experiencing high indoor humidity or mold, frost in attic, pent up moisture in attic? You may or may not. Some homes are drafty enough that humidity levels never get a chance to get high - even without an active venting system.

Even without soffit vents, the ridge vent will still work to a point and that may be enough. Not ideal of course, as the ridgevent may actually be pulling interior air and exacerbating air leaks and stack effect.

If you can keep the indoor wintertime humidity levels at 35% or lower, then youre fine - though again, not the ideal solution. Without reroofing, compromises like this are common, especially with cathedral/flat roof type assemblies.


Last edited by rodeo; 02-14-2011 at 10:51 AM.
rodeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advise installing soffit vent scrupul0us Roofing/Siding 11 10-09-2010 07:57 PM
Venting Bathroom Fan through Attic to soffit vent, vancouver island noonatak HVAC 2 05-12-2010 08:07 AM
Soffit vent chutes grtgrampa Roofing/Siding 1 08-19-2009 04:07 PM
Another Ridge Vent, Gable vent and soffit question (??) davco Roofing/Siding 2 04-30-2007 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.