Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2005, 01:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

No starter strips


:confused:
Hello

We are almost ready to roof our shed, but noticed that we don't have any starter strips. We called the store and they suggested two options:

1. Turn a full shingle upside down and use it for a starter strip.

2. Do the same thing as above, but cut the tabs off.

I don't know if either one is correct or not at all! Without alot of experience, I don't know how to nail it down if you cut the tabs off???

Thank you for your help.

Mike

fishwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 07:32 PM   #2
aka:awesomedell
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Central Missouri
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via MSN to housedocs
Default

No starter strips


Either suggestion is acceptable, personally I cut the tabs off. HTH

__________________
All you need is ignorance and confidence and success is assured. - Mark Twain
housedocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 10:36 PM   #3
renovations
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 430
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No starter strips


Starter strip is nice but not necessary. Turn the three tabs upside down and nail them around the level of the tar-line. It's a good idea to start with just two of the three tabs (ie cut it), this way you can start your roof proper with a full shingle without the joints happening on top of each other.
Bonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 06:30 AM   #4
Commercial Roofing
 
AaronB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 927
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No starter strips


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonus
Starter strip is nice but not necessary. Turn the three tabs upside down and nail them around the level of the tar-line. It's a good idea to start with just two of the three tabs (ie cut it), this way you can start your roof proper with a full shingle without the joints happening on top of each other.
Cut off a half a tab if you do it this way. Otherwise youre still left with the butt joints over the slots with very little coverage.
__________________
www.roseroofing.net/ Free inspection within 12 miles
Seamless Polyurea Roofing Membranes for Metal Roofing, Roof Leak Repair, Seamless Commercial Spray Foam Insulation, Seamless Commercial Roofing, SPF Roofing, Industrial Insulation, Our trucks are red but our roofing is GREEN!
AaronB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 09:32 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No starter strips


Thank you so much for all the help.
fishwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fix my Lawn Mower Starter myself !!! KUIPORNG Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 06-28-2009 01:34 PM
replacing starter boards Bob C Roofing/Siding 6 07-17-2007 12:04 PM
Recommended way to attach firring strips to Drylock wall? jbwaechter Building & Construction 1 04-29-2007 04:08 PM
CertainTeed starter shingle ? MACCC Roofing/Siding 2 04-20-2007 02:26 PM
Best furring strips? J187 Building & Construction 5 06-03-2006 09:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.