Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-20-2009, 10:04 AM   #1

Share |

New Modified Bitumen roof - please help

Good Morning,

I recently purchased a townhome in Washington DC. It needs a new roof and my potential contractors are pushing modified bitumen. I looked at rubber, but was told mod. bit is tried and true.

I'd like a no maintenance roof, so does a white, 2 ply APP, granulated, modified bit sound like the way to go?

I'm new to this stuff, but have been reading a ton. Is APP better than SBS? What ply is best in terms of longevity? Any suggestions or tips are appreciated.

FlemishBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:15 AM   #2
Chicago, IL

Townhouses are a special case because unless there is a parapet firewall projecting above the roof there is often moisture coupling between the roofs of adjacent units - it doesn't matter how good a roofing job is done on your unit if moisture from adjacent units is getting under your roof membrane.

That said, if you're going to stay there more than 10 to 15 years I would consider PVC, here in Chicago the realistic life of even a well installed modified bitumen roof is 15 years, and is not unusual for me to see them having problems after 10.

OTOH I've never seen the material fail on a PVC roof (only installation defects) and some of these roofs installed in Europe 50 years ago - with materials less sophisticated than those used today - are still going strong.

The problem is finding a roofer experience with PVC who is willing to do a small residential job - I'm only aware of one in my area - and that some manufacturers of PVC roof membranes do not warranty them for non-commercial application.