DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Need some help with roof - NO clue what to do, or how.. :(

2K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  Jim F 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

Ok, first off, let me start out by saying, I'm a first time home buyer. I have NO experience in doing any home improvement stuff. But me and my dad are pretty handy guys, so I'd imagine that if I set my mind to doing it, it can be done, assuming we are taught how.

So, with that said, I've got a problem with my carport roof, and my laundry room roof, which are both seperate add-ons from the main roof. Apparently before I bought the house, someone added a carport, which has a completely seperate roof, and a laundry room/utility room which also has a seperate roof, but looks kind of attached to the main roof.. Kinda hard to explain..

Anyway, I've got some major leakage going on. The laundry room roof is rotting big time. The area of the leakage/dry rot of the wood is probably about 7-8 ft. long X 6 ft. long. So that whole roof probably needs to be replaced. The carport roof leak is maybe 4 ft. X 4ft. so its not that big. It looks like someone may have tried to patch the carport roof cause there is some tar that was layed down on top of the leak.

Oh, and by the way, my roof has rock/gravel on top.

Anyway, if anyone could help guide me through this process, I would GREATLY appreciate it. I need to get it done as soon as possible, because I'm beginning to see some mold form.

I'll get some pictures for you guys hopefully today so that you can get an idea of what I'm working with here.

Thanks everyone!
Adrian

See less See more
#2 ·
Get those pictures up, and we will get to it. Just remember that roofing is dangerous labor intensive work. All I can do is guide you with technique and know how. All safety and application and any other responsibilities are yours. I accept no responsibility for anything related to your project. If you agree to this, then I would be happy to help.

#3 ·