DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Roofing/Siding (http://www.diychatroom.com/f9/)
-   -   need an opinion on a roof repair (http://www.diychatroom.com/f9/need-opinion-roof-repair-162214/)

emmsvs 11-04-2012 08:27 PM

need an opinion on a roof repair
 
2 Attachment(s)
I had a roof done less than a year ago. It started leaking where the roof meets the wall. The roofer came back out to repair and put flashing over the shingles and siding and used roofing cement to seal it. I have attached pictures.

I am not a roofer but it seems to me that this is an incorrect fix. Shouldnt the step flashing prevent water seepage in this area. Also, is it normal to flash across lap siding as in the pictures.

Any comments are appreciated. Not sure what to do next.

joecaption 11-04-2012 08:45 PM

That sure looks like masonite or some form or chip board siding.
The way it's done on any siding but the type you have is to run the step flashing up under the siding.
With the type siding you have it would just fall apart if someone tryed to remove it.
There was class action law sutes where people could get free replacement side the stuff was so bad.
Anytime I come up againt this problum I try and talk them into letting me replace the siding with vinyl in that area.

Roofmaster417 11-04-2012 09:10 PM

Boy that looks very sloppy.There are many things you can do other than that mess.

Each individual shingle should have its own piece of step flashing.Once again if step flashing cannot be installed due to the siding then either flash the wall and instal, a piece of trim board covering the step flashing.

Since your siding extends away from the wall with each panel of siding.,use a chalk line measure about 3" 1/2" off the roof deck then cut the siding off,,flash as usual then install a treated/primed/painted 1"x4" for trim.

Also that siding (In my area) can be purchased from Home Depot or Lowes.I am sure 1 panel would have done that side.

The other choice is to have some patients and loosen up the siding and flash as usual then secure the siding back in place.

Not flashing a wall behind the siding should be done when ALL other choices have been eliminated.A flat bar and a bucket of patients goes a long way in that situation.That wall looks like crap and I am not to sure if I would accept that or not.

The way the siding is deteriorated along the wall it might not have been his installation that was leaking but the condition of the wall.If so too bad,,with that nasty goop and smear he just made it his problem.So now he is going to have to rock that baby.He has sole custody of that now.

joecaption 11-04-2012 09:20 PM

I almost agree 100% with roof but would like to suggest a slightly differant way.
I cut the siding but cut it a little higher then the 3-1/2 suggested. prime and paint the exposed cut. Pry out the siding (easyer said then do with that junk) and slip in a piece of Z moulding, install the step flashing then use 1 X 4 vinyl lumber instead of pressure treated. Main reason is it will never rot and pressure treated does not like to hold paint.
I use Stainless steel trim head screws to attach it. That way 20 years from now you can still get it off.

Roofmaster417 11-04-2012 09:28 PM

I was just offering a cheaper solution.I really doubt that siding will last another 3 years with the advanced deterioration process going on.New siding is inevitable.. :)

And now when the OP gets new siding he also gets to address that mess his roofer left for him.

JWilliams850 11-06-2012 11:07 PM

call the roofer back and say his "fix" didnt work and he needs to come back and fix it and that smearing tar on the shingles isnt going to solve the problem. if your roof is still under warranty it shouldnt be a problem and if they wont tell them you call another roofer to fix it and then send them the bill.

Windows on Wash 11-07-2012 12:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JWilliams850 (Post 1046404)
call the roofer back and say his "fix" didnt work and he needs to come back and fix it and that smearing tar on the shingles isnt going to solve the problem. if your roof is still under warranty it shouldnt be a problem and if they wont tell them you call another roofer to fix it and then send them the bill.

In theory...yes.

The issues is whether or not you want that guy (i.e. that did that "repair") working on the home again.

Sometimes you are better suited to cut your losses.

JWilliams850 11-07-2012 07:57 AM

my step dad and i have had many repair calls like this. smearing tar on everything doesnt fix the problem people.

ddawg16 11-07-2012 08:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joecaption (Post 1044954)
I almost agree 100% with roof but would like to suggest a slightly differant way.
I cut the siding but cut it a little higher then the 3-1/2 suggested. prime and paint the exposed cut. Pry out the siding (easyer said then do with that junk) and slip in a piece of Z moulding, install the step flashing then use 1 X 4 vinyl lumber instead of pressure treated. Main reason is it will never rot and pressure treated does not like to hold paint.
I use Stainless steel trim head screws to attach it. That way 20 years from now you can still get it off.


^That is the right way.

As I'm typing...the roofing guy is most likely at my house to put on the roof. I'm doing stucco...but similar process as above. On the side where the existing roof is butting up agains the addittion wall, he will install a 1x6 board nailed to the wall. He will flash up to that board.

Then on top of that board will be z flashing....the stucco will have a weep screed that will be nailed about 1" above the top of the board....but on top of the top flange of the z flashing.

Basically, it creates a layered path for the water....nothing can get to the wood.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved