Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-12-2011, 04:41 PM   #1
Lost..

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Need a few pointers

Coming down to the final prep on a small shop/out building I am building in my back yard. I've never done a roof before, but from the few turorials I've done it can't be that hard. Just a small building with a roof surface that I have calculated as being 282 sq ft, so I figure I will need three squares of material for felt and shingles.

I think I am going to go with 30w felt just because it is thicker. I need regular three tab shingles in a driftwood color (it has to match my house per HOA rules)

I have a couple of questions.

Is driftwood a common color?

Can shingles be purchased anywhere besides box stores for a better price maybe?

Do I need a ridge vent? If so, I have no idea how to create the opening that would be required for it, or how to do the vent itself.

Just looking for a few pointers because I want to do this entire project myself. I'm trying to learn how this stuff is done so I will have an understanding.

Are there any detailed tutorials online that you guys might recommend for someone like me?

J S Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 08:03 AM   #2
Residential Roofer

Need a few pointers

If the building is a unheated tool shed than roof ventilation is optional.

If you go with roof vents, stop your sheathing roughly 1 1/2" short of the ridge on each side.

Install drip edge on the eaves.

Install 30# felt all the way up leaving the gap you left in the ridge uncovered.

Install drip edge on all eaves.

Install starter strips, 3-tabs with the tabbed portion cut off and with the self sealer strip facing outward, with an 1/2 " overhang from the outer edge of the drip edge.

In stall shingles, following installation spec's written on the bundles wrapper.