Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-02-2011, 10:15 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Need expert advice on roof

I am going to put a new roof on my 20 year old house. I am located in Alabama. I am a retired teacher and one of my former students has his own roofing business. He has given me an estimate that is about the same as 2 other estimates I have received. The problem I have is that he wants to use the Atlas Signature Gold Shingle. From what I have read on this forum Atlas seems to have a lot of problems with there shingles. He says this is an excellent shingle and one of the best on the market. I don't think he has been in the roofing business long. He did a house in my neighborhood and the roof looks good.

From what I have read I am leaning toward having the Tamko Heritage shingles put on. I would like to have him do the job but he says his supplier does not handle Tamko. He says the Atlas is a better shingle. So it looks as if I go with Tamko then I will have to get a different roofer.

Am I being unreasonable, any opinions on Tamko and Atlas????

jacknk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 11:23 AM   #2
Doing This Way Too Long

Rewards Points: 524

Ask him why he can't go to the supplier that has the product you prefer. If he wants to be successful he needs to be able to offer more than one thing.

That just seems odd to me.

As far as quality goes I cannot comment on Atlas since they are not used up here. Tamko has always been a reliable product though.

As with all roofing, the worst product put on by a great roofer can still be an excellent system. The best product put on by a lousy roofer can be a disaster. Quality of installation should always be your main concern.

OldNBroken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:09 AM   #3
Residential Roofer

Rewards Points: 500