Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-06-2012, 07:12 PM   #1

Share |

Nail gun or hammer

I'm at a cross road I going to re-roof my house I did it 18 yrs ago myself took me about week early mornings and evenings, and now need to not that I have to but want to sell my house in about a yr should I invest in a nail gun at about $100 not to include the cost of nails and is it worth it in time vs just nailing them by hand. I was going to just lay over them but after research it's probably best to just reshingle.

GRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:04 PM   #2

Nail gun or hammer

I am not a roofer by trade, so take this for what it's worth, but, In my opinion, an emphatic no; not worth it. Nail gun, nails, air compressor, hose, and what have you gained. Not doing it every day, you most likely do not have the "roof legs" of a pro, so you are only going to move so fast to start with. And what help will you have? Probably others who are not going to be nimble up there? You will have enough to watch for, such as your footing, nail placement, flashings, etc., let alone watching your new nailer, to make sure that you have it set right, so that it's not blowing through the shingles, that, again, I doubt that you are going to gain a lot of time. I would put the money toward good roof jacks, planks, stripping tools, and fall protection. And yes, I do have a pair of good Senco roofing nailers, which I use on sheds, etc., so do have something to compare against, but, typically, when I am assisting someone with their own roof, or something like that, where I have inexperienced assistance, I leave them in the truck, because I don't want them getting ahead of what I can keep an eye on, and possibly start shooting nails in a valley, or something like that. And, even when you do get rolling on a straight stretch, I can almost guarantee you that you will spend agoo