Moldy, Damp Attic Ceiling. - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-20-2013, 04:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

moldy, damp attic ceiling.

Hello, i am a first time homeowner in Michigan and have a moisture problem in my converted attic and i need help. let me give you all the information that i know.

i apologize in advance for how this is written, i am new to construction and don't know how to properly explain what i'm seeing.

my house was built in the '40s and someone previously converted the attic into a bedroom. so now there are three cavities that run the length of my house. one on each side of the room and one in the peak.
there are access panels to the side cavities. in one cavity i noticed that there is white mold blotches all over the ceiling / backside of the roof (my roof is made of planks and not sheets) and much of the wood is very damp and parts are frozen.
the previous owner had these cavities insulated with blown in insulation but there is no insulation attached to the ceiling areas.
they added two vents to the roof in the one cavity but only one small vent in the other and i am unable to view the peak cavity but i do not believe it is vented at all.
upon checking the cavity on the other side of the house (the cavity with only one small vent) i notice that the wood there has hardly any dampness and only mold in a few spots.

my brother tells me that these spaces need to be ventilated better and the air inside this area has to be the same temperature as the air outside and that i need "soffit vents" but my soffits are very small and i do not know if i can even add them.
my dad tells me i need to add a vent to each of the end walls to allow the air to move through.