DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Mold on roof sheathing!!!

21K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  Omegaroofer 
#1 ·
Hi, everyone. I'm new to DIYCHATROOM :) Love this forum! Anyhow, here's my situation, and I'm hoping for some info and expert opinions....

So a house that we are in contract to buy just came back with MOLD in the attic sheathing of the roof. The inspector noted that the mold wasn't on the rafters. And it seemed to be localized to one side of the sheathing, not the other. He believes that poor ventilation was to blame, and that by installing a ridge vent would prevent any additional problems with mold and condensation. He didn't detect any leaks, or moisture in the attic at the time, however.

The sellers listed their property "as-is," however we believe they may be willing to replace the roof (which is on it's last leg, anyhow), replace the sheathing, and install a ridge vent.

My questions are these:

1. Even if they replace the roof, sheathing, and install a ridge vent, what do we need to do to address the mold? Do we still need to ask for remediation, and then have them pay for an air quality test?

2. Will the ridge vent prevent any additonal mold problems?

3. Do we pay to test for the mold using and air quality test by a certified mold inspection, and insist that if there is any problem, they pay for remediation prior to moving in?

4. How would YOU handle a situation like this??

Here's pics of the attic, the side with the mold:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_gBHzpdG63hk/TMsdvqnL6eI/AAAAAAAAC6M/GFnEGCj_vk4/s1600/Mold_Durant2.JPG

And here's the other side that doesn't have mold:

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_gBHzpdG63hk/TMsdukC5kWI/AAAAAAAAC6E/hqyiSkc7CJA/s1600/Mold_Durant1.JPG

What do you think?????

Thanks!!!

See less See more
#4 ·