Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 08:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


This summer/fall I had my 25 year old house reroofed and the chimney recrowned/tucked and pointed. After the repair, I've been having a recurring leak around a stone/cinderblock chimney that the roofers been out to fix repeatedly. Changed the flashing twice and mortared the space between the chimney and the roof sheathing. Still having problems.
I am now having a white mold problems large areas of the roof sheating and on the roof trusses in an approximately 800 sq/ft attic. I never have had problems before.
I should have adequate ventilation/airflow with ridge vents, soffit vents, gable vents and an attic vent fan.
The only on ther change is that I added unfaced insulation on top of the old blown cellulose insulation this summer but I did what I could not to block the soffit vents.
Could the small leak and change in roof vent types cause a whole attic's worth of mold?
Suggestions for remediation?
If the problem is with the reroof/chimney, is the roofer liable for remediation?
Advice and suggestions welcome. Thank you!

nvrrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 08:58 PM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 6,561
Rewards Points: 2,420
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


Bulk moisture in the attic can create mold and mildew issues.

Was the ridge vent added with this last roof? You seem to have a bunch of different venting strategies going on.

Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


I had a hard ridge vent prior. I it was replaced with a soft, Cobra ridge vent. Yeah, I do have a lot of ventilation strategies up there.
nvrrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,914
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


The gable vents should have been blocked off and the roof vent removed when the ridge vent was installed.
Now the airs not being sucked in through the soffits and out the ridge vent washing across the under sides of the sheathing.
All the airs doing is coming in the gable and going straight out the ridge vent, leaving all the rafter bays with no moving air.
There should have been foam or plastic baffles installed before the insulation went in.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:24 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


Joecaption
You may be right but I have had essentially the same venting set-up since I moved in and I presume for some time after that. The roofer just replaced one ridge vent with another.
The soffits do have cardboad baffles installed when the cellose was originally put in. I left space before the baffle when I installed unfaced fiberglass insulation.

Last edited by nvrrong; 12-07-2011 at 09:33 PM.
nvrrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,914
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


If you go to Lowes or Home Depot and try to find Cobra vent, more then likyl your not going to find it any more.
The reason is it does not alow any where near the air flow and it's a royal paint to install correctly, Compress it to much by nailing it to tight and it's useless.
I had a customer supply all the materials for a job and he gave us Cobra Vent and we ran short. I had to order it from a company 1-1/2 hours away because all my shingle supplyers refused to sell it any more.
http://www.chimneyflashing.info/Ston...-Flashing.html

Last edited by joecaption; 12-07-2011 at 09:40 PM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Windows on Wash (12-07-2011)
Old 12-07-2011, 10:37 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


I agree. I've posted this twice before in this forum: http://www.inspectapedia.com/interiors/atticcond10.htm
Good comment!

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 09:08 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


It seems like with the new Cobra ridge vent replacing the old, hard ridge vent, I have lost outlet capacity and which reduced airflow under the roof and may be causing some condensation issues (along with the moisture from the chimney leaks).

My plan now is to get the chinmey reflashed, remediate the mold and replace the ridge vent with a better breathing ridge vent.

My hope is that the mold can just be sprayed and I don't have to rip off the roof and replace the sheating. That would be pricey.

Thanks for the information!
nvrrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 05:39 PM   #9
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 6,561
Rewards Points: 2,420
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


Once you remove the moisture and get the attic ventilated, a mildewicide/anti microbial can be sprayed on the mold and it will take care of it.

If it is really bad, you can spray it with C02 under pressure (dry ice blasting) can also be used.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 10:11 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: between boston and providence
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


I have the same problem, attic was problem free for 17 years, New roof was installed and within 2 years, black mold/ mildew, on north facing side. I installed soffit vents and now I will check the ridge vent type. Can anyone suggest a good mildewcide/ antimicrobial spray that I can use ?
Thanks for your help,
firemedic16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 02:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 505
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


i'll bump this since it's a fairly recent thread. when we do water flood damage the product of choice is microban. if you have a jon don or interlink in your town they sell it by the gallon

http://www.jondon.com/catalog/advanc...words=microban

i'm also troubleshooting the same issue
__________________
carpet cleaning hillsboro
racebum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:02 AM   #12
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,843
Rewards Points: 2,334
Default

Mold in attic after reroof


Frequently ,the soffit vents get blocked when the insulation is increased in the attic---

Can you see light coming in through the soffits?

__________________
Cast Your Vote!!
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
attic, mold, remediation, reroof


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold problem after unfinished house was closed in for the winter... lemonbltz Building & Construction 28 12-30-2011 07:52 PM
Attic mold? venting into attic? therompster HVAC 4 06-03-2011 06:18 PM
Attic Mold Rhizando General DIY Discussions 20 03-19-2011 08:07 PM
Attic Mold - Correct Ventilatoin michelle239 Roofing/Siding 3 03-02-2011 04:49 PM
Recently Topped Up Attic with Blown Insulation...Now I have Frost/Condensation earthad1 Building & Construction 81 02-18-2011 12:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.