Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2006, 08:24 PM   #1
milkman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: illinois
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to g man
Share |
Question

metal over wood shakes


I would like to know if i can go right over the top of old wood shakes, it's on an old farm shed .i think it would faster and less mess thanks for any input
g man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 06:28 AM   #2
Commercial Roofing
 
AaronB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 927
Default

metal over wood shakes


You can do anything you want if its your building, but it is not best practice.

It is done a lot over cut shingles, but split shakes are mush thicker ond less uniform, so I do not think I would do it if it were mine.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Free inspection within 12 miles
Seamless Polyurea Roofing Membranes for Metal Roofing, Roof Leak Repair, Seamless Commercial Spray Foam Insulation, Seamless Commercial Roofing, SPF Roofing, Industrial Insulation, Our trucks are red but our roofing is GREEN!
AaronB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 09:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 191
Default

metal over wood shakes


no matter what its always a better job to strip the old roof.

RooferJim
www.jbennetteroofing.com
RooferJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 05:28 PM   #4
General Contractor
 
joasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 876
Default

metal over wood shakes


If the shakes are laying flat, and if you use long woodgrip screws, it can be done, but be aware that if you walk on the steel, even 26 ga., you can dent it from the back side and it will be visable from the ground. As the above posts advise, it is always better to strip a roof, but we have installed many over shakes with no problems.
joasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
finishing a basement- metal tracks & wood studs sweep the leg johnny Building & Construction 4 03-09-2007 03:05 PM
Wood close to Non-IC recessed lighting-solution? sjmonty Electrical 4 12-01-2006 09:14 AM
Wood to Concrete without Drilling MattStata Carpentry 1 04-19-2006 04:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.