Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2011, 01:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


I started the roof today, got about 25% (about 4 square) tore off and underlayment applied. I also tore my chimney down and redecked over it, which was sort of a pain since it was in a valley...and replaced some rotten decking on my eave.

To my question: I ordered almost all of my materials from Oregon Roofers Supply, and I asked for 100 feet of starter strips...but they gave me a bundle of architectural shingles and a bundle of hip and ridge shingles to use as starter strips (apparently, "most people like that cause it saves money"). The hip and ridge shingles could be used as starters just like 3-tabs, since there is a tar strip in the right location...but there are also perforated from top to bottom every 8 inches or so, which doesn't seem desirable for my starter course.

But I cannot figure out a reasonable way to use the architectural shingles as starters. If you cut the exposed portion off and then flip them over (like you would for a 3 tab), the tar strip on the first course of shingles (which is preapplied on the bottom, about 1 inch from the bottom edge of the exposed portion) will line up directly with the strip of plastic on the cut and flipped starter, which will obviously not seal properly.

The only way I could think to make it work would be to cut the exposed portion off, then apply the unexposed part as a starter strip without flipping, but this leaves my cut edge as the leading edge, and it takes a lot of effort and time to make that cut perfectly straight.

My conclusion is that they had extra shingles they knew they couldn't sell and figured I might not notice, since I was obviously a newcomer to roofing.

Am I missing something?


Last edited by diyroofer; 09-17-2011 at 01:51 AM. Reason: clarity
diyroofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 04:49 AM   #2
KemoSabe
 
loneframer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 644
Rewards Points: 500
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


On my own roofing projects, I cut the exposure off of the starter shingles using the cellophane strip on the back of the shingle as a guideline for the cut. I simple utility knife works well for this. I've used 3-tab shingles in the same manner, which are a bit less expensive.

I prefer having the proper seal on the leading edge of the roof.

__________________
It's not that it took him an hour to make 100 bucks, it's that it didn't take you 10 hours to save 100 bucks.
loneframer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 07:40 AM   #3
Member
 
ParagonEx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 253
Rewards Points: 150
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


I would not install the dimensional shingles for a starter course. I also do not use 3-tab for starter but save money by using the pre-made starter.

On the 3-Tab shingles, you will need to cut off all the tabs for use as the starter. Are you sure the bundle of dimensional isn't for the actual roof?
ParagonEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 08:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


I figured that using the cellophane strip would be an option for making a relatively straight cut, but the bundle they gave me for starters is a cheap 30 year, and for whatever reason doesn't have that strip of cellophane on the back. I would use the nail guide lines but they aren't very straight anyways. I am debating whether or not I'm going to go buy a pre made starter strip this morning.

And yes, I know these are starters...I checked the order when I got home on thursday and there was a bundle of odd colored hip and ridge, and a bundle of white 30 yr., these were in addition to the 19 square of black lifetime shingles. I called them cause I was expecting starter strips, they said to use these, but it wasn't until I tried making a starter out of them that I realized it would be a pain (relative to pre cut starters).

Thanks to you both
diyroofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 08:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 77
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


Those cap shingles (Malarkey Hip & Ridge) are like the Certainteed ShadowRidge, a 4 piece perforated shingle. Don't use them lol. And don't use your Highlanders either. Go and buy more starters, even some 3-tabs if you can't buy "starter shingles" and cut the tabs off.
bcdemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 10:06 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


Yeah, my friend who is helping me today just ran to hd to pick up some actual starters.
diyroofer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to diyroofer For This Useful Post:
ParagonEx (09-17-2011)
Old 09-17-2011, 12:12 PM   #7
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Rewards Points: 500
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


Quote:
Originally Posted by bcdemon View Post
Those cap shingles (Malarkey Hip & Ridge) are like the Certainteed ShadowRidge, a 4 piece perforated shingle. Don't use them lol.

That's funny Demon.,But UI did have a crew that used Tamko Hip $ Ridge for starters once.

When the roof was ready for the final ridge application I got a call that they were short on ridge.I was clueless because I always order an extra bundle of ridge in case of any damaged taps within the bundles.

Having never missed ridge count I went to deliver the H$R myself.Sure enough they had 3 bundles of 3-tabs left but no ridge.Not thinking anyone could be that dense to cut up perforated tabs I pulled back the rake line and sure enough.,Individual H&R starter tabs.

Needless to say they replaced the entire perimeter with starters and bought the ridge themselves out of the final bill.I pay for accidents but not stupidity.

BTW it just dawned on me who you were.,nice to see you here.
Attached Thumbnails
making starters from Arch. Shingles-roof-fail-fork-party.jpg  
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 10:13 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 77
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roofmaster417 View Post
BTW it just dawned on me who you were.,nice to see you here.
Yeah some other sites have way too much spam to filter through, this site has actual people (from our continent) who may be interested in some help

As per your story:
I handed a friend 7sq of shingles, with starters, capping, paper, nails and staples, everything he needed so the siding crew he hired could re-do his carport roof (I went down a few weeks later to do the house). So I get there and the roof looks fine, check the eve and gable edge,cool, they used starters and installed the ridge vent properly, I was happy.
Until I went to cap the house and found out some caps (still full shingles) had 3 holes in them. So I'm flipping through the open stack and just as I thought "what if they used these for starters" I find the first one, which had 6 inches cut off , then I roared. Considering I bought Certainteed Swift Start and ShadowRidge, well I thought it was self explanatory.
bcdemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 01:27 PM   #9
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Rewards Points: 500
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


Quote:
Originally Posted by bcdemon View Post
Yeah some other sites have way too much spam to filter through, this site has actual people (from our continent) who may be interested in some help

As per your story:
I handed a friend 7sq of shingles, with starters, capping, paper, nails and staples, everything he needed so the siding crew he hired could re-do his carport roof (I went down a few weeks later to do the house). So I get there and the roof looks fine, check the eve and gable edge,cool, they used starters and installed the ridge vent properly, I was happy.
Until I went to cap the house and found out some caps (still full shingles) had 3 holes in them. So I'm flipping through the open stack and just as I thought "what if they used these for starters" I find the first one, which had 6 inches cut off , then I roared. Considering I bought Certainteed Swift Start and ShadowRidge, well I thought it was self explanatory.

That's funny.,Just when you think you have seen it all.,
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:02 PM   #10
Master Roofer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


I wonder...who's it saving money to use half dimensional and half ridgecap to start their roof? It sounds like they were trying to unload some old stuff they couldn't sell and hoped you wouldn't notice.

If you're going to use the ridge, just make sure your seams are offset with the perforations, and with dimensional just cut the double layered part off and put the cellophane down so the shingle sticks. It should work fine, but still not ideal.
NewHeights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 02:28 PM   #11
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Rewards Points: 500
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


New Heights I am a bit confused,,,are you wanting to use architectural for ridge?

Last edited by Roofmaster417; 09-18-2011 at 08:16 PM.
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 07:10 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 77
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roofmaster417 View Post
I am a bit confused,,,are you wanting to use architectural for ridge?
Some of the ugliest "capping" I have ever seen lol.
bcdemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 11:44 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


The guy said he charged me nine dollars a bundle for the leftovers, versus 25 dollars per bundle times two for the regular starters. I am going to insist they take the odds and ends back and credit me without a re stocking free, since I specifically asked for starters, and got confirmation on that at least twice. We got a bundle of gaf starters from home depot for forty bucks, which covers 120 feet...I only need 100.
diyroofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 08:52 AM   #14
Master Roofer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

making starters from Arch. Shingles


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roofmaster417 View Post
New Heights I am a bit confused,,,are you wanting to use architectural for ridge?
Oh you were asking me that question

No I would never use arch for ridge, way too much work cutting and it looks bad. It was my understanding that the OP was delivered a bundle of arch and a bundle of ridge to use for his starter. So I was just throwing out some ways to make use of it.

@diyroofer - Good choice, GAF starter has that extra tar strip and you won't have any problems with perforations to deal with. Just remember that GAF starter is shorter than normal shingle...at least it is where I live.

NewHeights is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-roofing Architectural Shingles over Architectural Shingles NoDIY4Me Roofing/Siding 11 04-08-2014 07:50 PM
Energy Star Qualified Asphalt roofing shingles? Scuba_Dave Roofing/Siding 50 09-28-2010 02:25 PM
Help! -- what is causing these shingles to fail? imaginator Roofing/Siding 1 09-18-2010 06:29 PM
Weight vs. durability of architectural shingles JoeT Roofing/Siding 10 06-29-2009 06:50 AM
IKO Shingles - beware mtugrad1985 Roofing/Siding 7 02-10-2009 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.