Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-03-2012, 12:52 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Looking for help on how to install recessed soffit.

Hello,

I am about to have a new roof installed on my house, before its done I wanted to repaint my house, soffits, fascia. The house is now painted, but as I began to scrape, prime, repaint the fascia, I decided Id rather remove the soffits and install vinyl or aluminum vented soffits to allow more airflow into the attic. And, I figured Id might as well install aluminum fascia as well; I think it would be faster and easier that scraping and repainting.

One issue I am running into is how to install the soffits. I have never done this before, but I am fairly handy so I do not think it would be too difficult. Most of the soffits installs I see in literature and the internet, are installed flush to the bottom of the fascia; nailed or screwed to the underneath of the fascia, which is then hidden by the installation of aluminum fascia. My current soffits are recessed, so to install J channel into the current nailing strips would be difficult. I could install F channel, and screw them into the wall, and then flush mount them as instructed, but I kinda like the recessed look of them; my shingles are cement so I cant nail or they would shatter. If I install them recessed, then the aluminum fascia will not disguise or cover the new soffit. One possible solution I thought of was installing fascia twice, once on the inside, to which I could install the J or F channel to. Then after I install the soffits, I can install the second fascia on the outside .

Does any of this make sense? Is anyone familiar with how this is normally done? I do not have any 90 turns on my eaves, they all terminate at the end of the runs, no returns to the rake or peaks.

Attached is a pic of what they currently look like.