Leaky Roof? - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-05-2010, 05:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Leaky roof?

Hello,

This weekend I did a check on my roof from the attic. I was surprised to see some suspicious leaky issues, photos are attached below. The roof in question was bit far away from where I could take the shots so I personally could not see that very clearly. And also pardon me for the not-so-good-quality pictures due to the lighting issues. As I am a newbie to homes (moved to this new townhouse 3 years ago and never have had a chance to check the roof till now), I am seeking some professional explanations and advice.

1. Is this a leaky roof? (leak due to construction deficiency)
2. Can moisture from beneath the ceiling also result in the same symptom?

I initially wanted to crawl close to the roof but I was concerned about my personal safety (the attic was narrow and with low clearance). Is the ceiling strong enough to hold my weight should I step on it?

Thanks very much,
Attached Thumbnails
Leaky roof?-1.jpg   Leaky roof?-2.jpg   Leaky roof?-3.jpg   Leaky roof?-4.jpg   Leaky roof?-6.jpg  

Leaky roof?-5.jpg  

Advertisement

rockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:02 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,018

Leaky roof?

I would recommend checking directly below where that roof area is.

If you can access that area, I would recommend putting a shallow pan there to catch the water, or, if you can access that area during a rainstorm, see if the insulation is wet.

Advertisement

handy man88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:27 AM   #3
Shut in w/o Home

Rewards Points: 500

Leaky roof?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockets View Post
Hello,