Leaking 3 Years Old Shingle Roof - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-22-2014, 11:47 AM   #1
Azo

Rewards Points: 10

Leaking 3 years old shingle roof

It happened on the very first worm day when snow started melting. The house is 14 years old and I bought it last year in winter time. I did not have this problem last year. Last fall I inspected the roof and it looked excellent, like a relatively new roof. What worries me is that when I looked in the attic most walls were heavy wet, top to bottom. It was impossible to locate the leak origin. It is very possible there is no any isolation installed between shingles and plywood. But I can do nothing about this.
I do not know much about roofing, but I have some hands on experience. On my previous house I installed by myself a big sunroof and a power vent. I also maintained it by sealing flashings, cracks, nails heads etc. It was 22 years old and no leaks or wet plywood inside the attic.
Is it something I can do to fix it?

Advertisement

Azo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 11:50 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,248

Your roof is not vented properly.Are there any vents in the soffit?
Any ridge vents or turbines?
W

Advertisement

mako1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 12:45 PM   #3
Azo