Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2013, 06:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 191
Share |
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Hi guys, about to finally get around to repairing a minor leak in my parent's roof that they didn't catch for years. It was due to a satellited being installed. It did cause some rot to the plywood. It's in the middle of their sloped roof.

Anyways, I did some research and wanted to double check if I'm going about this repair the right way.

I'm going to remove the shingles and the roofing felt to expose the holes and rotted plywood (only about 4 square feet).

A question I have is do I then cut out the rotted plywood portion ONLY? Or do I remove the whole plywood sheet/sheets (thus having to remove even more shingles and felt)?

Same question is for the roofing felt. Do I cut out only a small section of the tar paper/felt? Or do remove the whole sheet/sheets of roofing felt?

Also, if I have to install new roofing felt, do I just tuck the new roofing felt under the old roofing felt above and then try to overlap the new felt at the bottom portion over the old roofing felt? If I am just repairing a small cut out section of the roofing felt, I'm not so sure about how to properly do the overlaps to make a water proof flow path.

Do I just use 1 3/4 inch roofing nails for the asphalt shingles, roofing felt, and plywood? Or do I need to use something other than roofing nails for the roofing felt and plywood?

Do I need ice and water shield? If I do, I can not find it on Lowes website. I can only find roofing felt. What is it generically called?

When reinstalling the new plywood, I'm guessing I will have to nail it to the other supporting wood beams to support it properly. If I end up just cutting out a small portion of plywood, then can I just nail some studs between the wood beams to then support the cut out area? And what thickness of plywood is recommended?

As for filling some small sections/holes during the repair process, can I just use regular Black Jack cement roof coating?


Here are some links to the supplies I am planning on buying. I think these are okay but let me know if I'm missing anything important. I'm getting the roofing felt, black jack cement, 1/2 x 2 x 2 oak plywood, some 1 3/4 inch blue hawk roofing nails that I have laying around, and shingles of course. Am I missing anything?

http://www.lowes.com/pd_11818-29-217...ent&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/pd_6215-99899-1...roduct_price|0

http://www.lowes.com/pd_10308-69899-...elt&facetInfo=

Sorry for all the questions, this is my first time doing a roofing repair and wanted to make sure I do it right. My questions sound annoying even to me, so just answer whatever you're in the mood to answer. Thanks a bunch.

amodoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 08:01 PM   #2
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,530
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Post some pictures. Lets see how bad the damage is. Don't buy oak veneer plywood for a roof it is way overkill, and way too expensive. All you need is CD-Exposure 1 thickness to match existing. I always recommend fir plywood. drill a plug out from below with a hole saw to check the thickness.

__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jagans For This Useful Post:
Windows on Wash (06-16-2013)
Old 06-16-2013, 08:48 AM   #3
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,916
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Don't you mean CDX plywood James.

Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 10:28 AM   #4
Doing This Way Too Long
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,121
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows on Wash View Post
Don't you mean CDX plywood James.

God don't get him started. Now he's probably going to start the "ice dam material", or whatever he calls ice/water, rant too.
OldNBroken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 10:33 AM   #5
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,530
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OldNBroken View Post
God don't get him started. Now he's probably going to start the "ice dam material", or whatever he calls ice/water, rant too.
OK, You guys win CDX, and SBS (Sticky Black S**t) I give up. No sense
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 10:37 AM   #6
Doing This Way Too Long
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,121
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
OK, You guys win CDX, and SBS (Sticky Black S**t) I give up. No sense


Sticky Black ****... I like that.
OldNBroken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 12:44 PM   #7
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,916
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
OK, You guys win CDX, and SBS (Sticky Black S**t) I give up. No sense
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:30 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 191
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Thanks for the reply guys, much appreciated. Here is a picture I posted a while ago. Seems like people thought it needed to be replaced, that is why I was just asking about what materials I would need and how to do it. Let me know what you think.

Thanks again, I don't know a thing about roofing.
Attached Thumbnails
Leak in roof due to satellite.  Is this the way to repair it?-img_2258.jpg  
amodoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 191
Default

Leak in roof due to satellite. Is this the way to repair it?


Oops, just read my old post about this issue. I forgot I got answers about materials then. This was back in November.... I've been bad. Should have gotten this done at least in early spring.

Anyways, I'm an idiot, should have looked at my old post before posting again.

Seems like people felt I just need tar paper/felt, shingles, and plywood. I'm still not so sure about the size nails, roofing cement, and if I need ice/water shield though.

amodoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
leak in cement tile roof virgo822 Roofing/Siding 2 07-23-2011 05:29 AM
Roof leak nightmare..... it won't stop amandat37 Roofing/Siding 52 04-22-2011 12:47 PM
Flat Tar Roof Leak RedBear Roofing/Siding 7 03-08-2010 06:40 AM
Roof Leak Around Chimney robertr4836 Roofing/Siding 3 03-11-2008 11:23 AM
Edge of roof deteriorated, how to repair? (pics) diymonkey Roofing/Siding 3 06-23-2007 01:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.