DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Joining 2 different materials at a ridge?

2K views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  the roofing god 
#1 ·
Ok guys, I'm a young architect with limited experience, and i was wondering if I could get some sage advice. I have a client that is adding a full second floor to the rear portion of a cape cod house. The only problem is that to be code compliant, I really need to keep the slope over the new roof to 1:12, and the client is INSISTENT upon using standing seam metal. So... is it possible for an asphalt shingle roof with a 9:12 slope to join a 1:12 slope standing seam roof at the ridge? And any suggestions on how to ventilate? Normally I would run Propas from soffit to ridge vent, but i'm concerned about putting a ridge vent along such a low slope and then having rainwater blow back up into the attic through the vent. Even more unsettling... this guy's acting as his own GC.

Whadya guys think?:wink:

#3 · (Edited)
Several things to point out.

First;
You can have the sheet metal flashing fold over symetrically and equally onto the 9/12 portion of the roof. Also run similar looking flashing for the remainder of the ridge even where the dormer is not connected for an even continuos appearance.

Second;
You can install a ridge vent below specification level if you insert an j-channel on the interior portion of a ridge vent such as the Shingle Vent II. The longer leg of the metal flashing gets covered by the top edge of the last course of shingles, then their is a 3/4" to 1" perpindicular rise and then the shorter leg runs back at a 90* angle facing the eave edge. This creates an internal baffle in addition to the preexisting external baffle to battle the weather elements.

It is not listed in their application guidelines, but I have done this successfully on many occassions on cape cod roofs with rear low slope dormers.

Third;