Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-08-2012, 02:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Insulating Detached Garage Workshop

Greetings all. First time posting and relatively new woodworker.

We have recently moved into a home with a 25x30 detached garage in back. As a woodworker, I am in hog heaven except for one thing I can only manage to work in there a few hours a day if at all - even in our moderate climate (upstate SC). It has 9 ft. walls and a fairly high roof 5/12 pitch I think) and is totally uninsulated. It has ridge vents and soffett vents, and I can literally feel the air blowing through when it gets windy outside. It is a bit underengineered with only 2x4 rafters and wall studs, but feels sturdy. The previous owner had laid down plywood over the middle of the ceiling joists, but otherwise the ceiling is open. I would like to keep it that way, because it makes for great storgage which I really need.

I only have a budget of about $1,000 to insulate it. I don't want to live in it, just extend the hours I can work in it with only portable heat sources and a window A/C in the summer. I was thinking along the lines of foil faced foam board nailed to the bottom of the roof rafters (foil facing up) and glued to the inside of the garage doors (facing in), reflective tape to seal the joints in the foamboard, faced fiberglass in the walls, and caulk and Great Stuff to plug other air leaks.

Please let me know if this would be a viable option that would make sense, not cost much, but actually keep the workshop warmer in the winter and cooler in the summer.

Along those lines, I have read about double foil faced polyiso foamboards like Thermax, but haven't found any place that sells them locally and don't know how much they cost. Any suggestions??

Thanks.

subvet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:49 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 4,152