Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-17-2009, 06:27 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

help with roof vents

I am new at this , with that said i need some help, I am having a roof put on the house, and one roofer said I need a roof vent rigde and the said I need can vents, what works better, or is it the size or shape of the house. the house is a ranch 12-14 sq ft. three bedroom brick. can soom one give me a good answer? thank you for your help.

chevy71@wowway. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 07:15 PM   #2

help with roof vents

The "Proper" type of Ridge Vent works much better than any of the "Can" vents.

If your home is a Gable style, which it probably is, with a long continuous ridge line at the peak of the home, then the amount of Can vents you would need to equal out the amount of NFVA, Net Free Ventilation Area. would seem almost ludicrous.

For general comparisons, if you have about 40 feet of ridge line, you would need just under 16 of the metal static air mushroom vents, (Pot vents, Turtle vents, etc...)

Equally, if not more important than the Exhaust Ventilation, is that you have an Balanced amount of Intake Ventilation to properly allow the flowage of air to go through the attic and create a washing and cleansing effect.

Consider the addition of Intake Ventilation and the style to be used would be determined by the existing conditions of your home.

Ed

Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 07:34 PM   #3

help with roof vents

The one roofer said we should go with the can vents, because that would be following the manufactures recommendations. He said he could put on the ridge vent, but if any thing happen to a shingle(s) we wouldn't be coverred under the manufacture. We don't know what decision to make??
could this be true? we have a 3 bedroom ranch 12-14 sq feet.
chevy71@wowway. is offline   Reply With Quote